Fluid Radio Reviews

Source: Fluid Radio.

Ragnhild May and Kristoffer Raasted – Harmoniske ØVelser

Hotel Neon – Means of Knowing

Out of Hibernation…


Bojanek & Michalowski – Solid

Pascal Savy – Dislocations

Simon Whetham – Open and Closed Circles

ØJerum – Stilhedens Strømmen / Fuglenes Blod




May 18, 2018
Jason Stein’s Locksmith Isidore, Nublu
Mike Pride Jason Roebke Jason Stein

May 18, 2018
Jamie Branch Midnight Express, Nublu
Jaimie Branch Michael Formanek Mike Pride Jamie Saft

May 15, 2018
Talibam! Hard Vibe, Max Fish
Matt Mottel Matt Nelson Kevin Shea Ron Stabinsky

May 15, 2018
Jessica Pavone Solo, Max Fish
Jessica Pavone

May 15, 2018
CP Unit, Max Fish
Henry Fraser Sam Lisabeth Jason Nazary Chris Pitsiokos

5049 Records Podcast Episode 161 – Dave Burrell 

Dave Burrell

Source: 5049 Records.

Dave Burrell is an absolute legend of free music. Raised in Hawaii, he moved to the Lower East Side after doing his time at Berklee, where he began playing with Marion Brown and Pharoah Sanders. He was there for Slugs’ Saloon and loft jazz. He’s led a most colorful path as a composer/performer, writing operas, traveling the world and refining an instrumental language that is completely top shelf. Currently his life’s work is being celebrated at the 23rd annual Vision Festival in New York City and I couldn’t be happier that it brought him by the Chihuahua Compound for a chant and chew. Dave is an artist both generous of music and spirit and an absolute joy to speak with. Get ready for a good one.

NowNet Arts Festival in June 8

Source: NowNet Arts.

NowNet Arts Festival premieres contemporary works for live performance via the internet. The program features internet artist Daniel Pinheiro streaming from Portugal, and “Interconnections for Peace: A Telematic Concert in Seoul, San Diego, and New York City” with compositions by Michael Dessen, Mark Dresser, Yoon Jeong Heo, Nicole Mitchell, Stephanie Richards, and Sarah Weaver for an international large ensemble. The technology incorporates performance-quality multichannel audio and video conferencing on high-bandwidth internet. Audiences will be present in each location and online via webstream.

New York Location
June 8 at 9:30pm-1:00amEDT
DuArt Media Building, 245 W 55th St, 6th Floor, New York, NY 10019
Advance Ticket Purchase Required $30/$20 Students and Seniors
TICKETS: http://www.nownetarts.org/store

San Diego Location
June 8 at 7:00pm-10:00pmPDT
Conrad Prebys Music Center Experimental Theater, University of California San Diego
Directions: http://musicweb.ucsd.edu/directions/directions-pages.php?i=601
Admission Free

Seoul Location
June 9 at 11:00am-2:00pmKST
Seoul National University, College of Music, Concert Hall, 1 Gwanak-ro, Gwanak-gu, Seoul 08826
Directions: http://music.snu.ac.kr/en/node/141
Admission Free

Live Audio Webcast Online: http://www.livestream.com/nownetarts

9:30pm Daniel Pinheiro, Internet Visual Artist and Performer

10:00pm-1am Interconnections for Peace: A Telematic Concert in Seoul, San Diego, and New York City
Composers: Michael Dessen, Mark Dresser, Yoon Jeong Heo, Nicole Mitchell, Stephanie Richards, Sarah Weaver
New York — Yoon Sun Choi, voice, Jane Ira Bloom, soprano saxophone, Matthias Ziegler, flutes, David Taylor, bass trombone, Satoshi Takeishi, percussion, Sarah Weaver, conductor
San Diego — Nicole Mitchell, flutes, Stephanie Richards, trumpet, Michael Dessen, trombone, Mark Dresser, bass
Seoul — Black String: Yoon Jeong Heo, geomungo, Jean Oh, electric guitar, A Ram Lee, daegeum, Min Wang Hwang, percussion, voice, with Seoul National University professor Ji Young Yi, gayageum

Moogfest Review

English: Jonsi performing at Moogfest 2010

Source: The New York Times.

Moogfest has emerged as the opposite of typical electronic-music festivals. It largely ignores so-called “big room” dance music in favor of sounds that stretch boundaries and explore sonic phenomena. Four-hour “durational” performances and an eight-hour, overnight “sleep concert” favored drones and meditative music. Moogfest also, in the state that passed and then repealed a divisive law on bathroom use, made a point of featuring performers and speakers who are gay, female, transgender or nonbinary — including a keynote stage interview with Chelsea Manning of WikiLeaks fame.

Paal Nilssen-Love Large Unit in Orlando, June 12th 

English: Jazz-drummer Paal Nilssen-Love in con...

Source: thecm5.

Tuesday, June 12th, 2018
Timucua Arts Foundation and The Civic Minded 5 present
Paal Nilssen-Love Large Unit
Timucua Arts
2000 South Summerlin Ave, Orlando, Fl 32806
7:00 pm doors, 7:30 concert

Large Unit is twelve Nordic musicians led by the high-energy phenom drummer Paal Nilssen-Love. Ensemble musical motifs with alternately elegiac, squelchy, and emphatic improvisations interlock in a shifting, sonic poetry. It’s a jazz big band if you can agree that the crunchy, tabletop electronics of Lasse Marhaug, an accordionist, and two bassists who veer into Post-Punk territory can coexist with the traditions of the Swing. Countenance these elements colliding with your Ellington or Gil Evans or not, this is an exemplar cm5 spectacle.