Edgefest Preview

Source: The Michigan Daily.

The soul of the saxophone, the pounding of percussion, the mellow of the cello — these sounds blend into a traveling tune, dancing through the air to the ears of the crowd. Edgefest, the four day festival of avant-garde music, features a plethora of world-renowned artists, each a master of their own form of music. Ground-breaking musicians, influenced by jazz, rock and classical, are bringing innovative and improvised melodies to the Kerrytown Concert House this weekend. With several performances throughout the evening each day, there are plenty opportunities to make time for musical talents that radiate with passion and expertise.


Seattle Scene: October 19-28, 2017

From Seattle’s Wayward Music Series:


Chapel Performance Space at Good Shepherd Center

4th Floor, 4649 Sunnyside Ave. N, Seattle 98103 (corner N 50th St. in Wallingford)

Every month, Nonsequitur and a community of like-minded presenters and artists offer ten concerts of adventurous music in an informal yet respectful all-ages setting: contemporary classical, free improvisation, the outer limits of jazz, electronic music, microtonal/new instruments, sound art, and other extraordinary sonic experiences.

Akio Suzuki & Aki Onda
Thu. Oct. 19, 8 PM; $10 advance/at door

Akio Suzuki & Aki Onda perform with unconventional and self-made instruments including Walkman cassette players and radios, found pieces of wood, nails, hammers, buckets, marbles, and glass jars, allowing the individual architecture and acoustics of the various sites to guide the flow and development of the performances. Audience is limited to 85 and we expect this to sell out, so get your tickets now!

Earshot: P. Chatterjee & N. Welch
Sat. Oct. 21, 8 PM; $20, $18, $10 in advance

Pandit Chatterjee is a distinguished name among Indian musicians as an outstanding sitarist and a highly regarded teacher, widely respected for his devotion to music and placed him among the top instrumentalists of his era. He performs with outstanding Seattle-based saxophonist Neil Welch, of the duo Bad Luck. Presented by Earshot Jazz Festival.

TUE. 10/24 – Earshot Jazz Festival presents Matt Mitchell: Music of Tim Berne + Dawn Clement duets

THU. 10/26 – Earshot Jazz Festival presents Robin Holcomb Trio + Mikolaj Trzaska

FRI. 10/27 – Vocalise women’s vocal ensemble performs works by living composers

SAT. 10/28 – Nonsequitur presents analog synth veteran Todd Barton + Jason E. Anderson

Gyorgy Ligeti Series Coming to the University of Chicago

Source: Chicago Tribune.

Arditti Quartet. The ensemble intersperses Ligeti’s pathbreaking String Quartets Nos. 1 and 2 with Bartok’s Third and Fourth quartets, which greatly influenced his works in that genre. 7:30 p.m. Friday, Mandel Hall, 1131 E. 57th St. A discussion with Arditti Quartet members will take place at 10:30 a.m. Saturday in the Logan Center, 915 E. 60th St.; free, but reservations are suggested.

— Imani Winds, Ensemble Dal Niente, Doyle Armbrust, Winston Choi, Kuang-Hao Huang. The artists and ensembles survey Ligeti’s chamber output, including Viola Sonata, Horn Trio, Bagatelles and Pieces for two pianos. Nov. 10, Logan Center.

Eighth Blackbird and Amadinda. Arrangements of several Ligeti pieces by Eighth Blackbird share the program with a North American premiere by the composer’s son Lukas Ligeti and other ensemble works by Steve Reich and Aurel Hollo. Feb. 2, Logan Center.

— Third Coast Percussion and Rachel Calloway. Three Ligeti scores — including “Poeme Symphonique” and an arrangement of his solo-harpsichord piece “Continuum” — are presented along with a piece by Christopher Cerrone. Feb. 16, Logan Center.

— “Ligeti in Context: The Witch’s Kitchen.” A new sound installation by U. of C. electronics studio director Sam Pluta reimagines the heady atmosphere of the Studio for Electronic Music at West German Radio (WDR) in Cologne, Germany, where Ligeti, Stockhausen and other Young Turks of modernism gathered in the 1950s and ’60s to create compositions out of synthesized sounds. March 5-8, Logan Center.

— Pierre-Laurent Aimard. The formidable French pianist pairs Ligeti’s dazzling solo piano Etudes with Beethoven’s towering “Hammerklavier” Sonata. March 6, Logan Center.

Instant Composers Pool Orchestra UK and Ireland Tour

Source: Jazzwise.

The unique, internationally renowned Instant Composers Pool Orchestra launches Going Dutch, a new, yearlong project aimed at introducing British and Irish audiences to the vibrant Netherlands jazz scene, with a seven date tour beginning at Lakeside Arts in Nottingham on Monday 30 October.

After the Nottingham concert the tour continues at Turner Sims Concert Hall, Southampton (31 October), Culturalann Ui Chanain, Derry (2 Nov), The Mac, Belfast (3 Nov), The Sugar Club, Dublin (4 Nov), Triskel Arts Centre, Cork (5 Nov), and Widcombe Social Club, Bath (6 Nov).

Devin Gray on Tour

Source: Devin Gray Music.

10/17/17 DG // Cory Smythe // Ingrid Laubrock // Trevor Dunn Brooklyn Korzo

10/17/17 Cloudsounds Trio Release! (Ingrid Laubrock, Cory Smythe) Earth Worldwide

10/22/17 Sarah Bernstein Group Brooklyn Legion Bar

10/22/17 Sara Serpa Trio (Chris Tordini/DG) New York Cornelia Street Cafe

11/11/17 Kjetil Jerve // Christian Meaas Svendsen // DG Oslo Bar Django

11/12/17 Chris Speed//Devin Gray//DUO Köln Salon de Jazz

11/13/17 Devin Gray’s New York Trio (Chris Speed/Drew Gress) LONDON VORTEX

11/14/17 Devin Gray’s New York Trio (Chris Speed/Drew Gress) Marburg Cavete

11/15/17 Devin Gray’s New York Trio (Chris Speed/Drew Gress) Linz Gallery MAERZ

11/16/17 Devin Gray’s RelativE ResonancE (Chris Speed/Peter Madsen/Drew Gress/DG) Wien Porgy & Bess

11/17/17 Devin Gray’s RelativE ResonancE (Chris Speed/Peter Madsen/Drew Gress/DG) Graz Wist

11/18/17 Devin Gray’s RelativE ResonancE (Chris Speed/Peter Madsen/Drew Gress/DG) Lausanne Chorus

Avant-garde spirit lives in ‘A Musical Feast’ in Buffalo

Source: The Buffalo News.

In the 1960s and ’70s, the musical avant-garde flourished in Buffalo, exemplified by the Creative Associates at the University at Buffalo. Its shock waves reached Kleinhans Music Hall, where the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra‘s music director, Lukas Foss, embraced the experimentation.

That old spirit lives on in the concert series called “A Musical Feast.” Organizers describe the season-opening program as “a multimedia event, very much in the now hallowed tradition of performances by the Creative Associates.”



October 14, 2017
Ditmas Quartet, IBeam
Michaël Attias Jeff Davis Max Johnson Eva Novoa

October 14, 2017
Eva Novoa Quartet, IBeam
Ryan Ferreira Devin Gray Masa Kamaguchi Eva Novoa

October 10, 2017
Ben Goldberg Orphic Machine, The Stone
Trevor Dunn Ben Goldberg Carla Kihlstedt Mike McGinnis Myra Melford Ron Miles Nate Radley Ches Smith Kenny Wollesen