Tom Hamilton and Bruce Eisenbeil Interviewed

From New York’s Roulette:

Coherence without predictability, speed without tempo, direction without a roadmap – an unlikely foray into the world of out-jazz and free improvisation. On Saturday, October 3rd at Roulette, Hamilton and Eisenbeil will be joined in one set by their special guest, the great percussionist William Hooker.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

October at Roulette

The October schedule from New York’s Roulette:

Fay Victor Ensemble “The FreeSongSuite”
Thurs Oct 1 – 8:30 PM

Bisio / Crothers
Fri Oct 2 – 8:30 PM

Jane Rigler Roulette CHILDREN’S CONCERT $5
Sat Oct 3 – 8:30 PM

Tom Hamilton & Bruce Eisenbeil w/ William Hooker
Sat Oct 3 – 8:30 PM

Alan Licht, Brian Chase, and Okkyung Lee
Sun Oct 4 – 8:30 PM

Adam Rudolph’s Go Organic Orchestra
Mon Oct 12, 19, 26 – 8:30 PM

LARRY OCHS SAX & DRUMMING CORE featuring SCOTT AMENDOLA, DON ROBINSON, SATOKO FUJII, NATSUKI TAMURA
Tue Oct 13 – 8:30 PM

Myra Melford‘s Happy Whistlings
Wed Oct 14 – 8:30 PM

INTERPRETATIONS: Daan Vandewalle
Thu Oct 15 – 8:30 PM

HARVESTWORKS INSIDE: Shadow Puppies / Nicolas Collins vs. Nick Collins
Fri Oct 16 – 8:00 PM
please visit http://www.harvestworks.org for info.

HARVESTWORKS INSIDE: Ikue Mori & LEMUR / Miya Masaoka / Peter Blasser / David Galbraith / Laetitia Sonami
Sat Oct 17 – 6:00 PM
please visit http://www.harvestworks.org for info.

HARVESTWORKS INSIDE: Lucky Dragons / Joker Nies / Triple Point / Andrew Deutsch & Peer Bode / Moritz Wettstein
Sun Oct 18 – 6:00 PM
please visit http://www.harvestworks.org for info.

Doron Sadja plays Doron Sadja
Wed Oct 21 – 8:30 PM

Okkyung Lee & Kjell Bjørgeengen
Thu Oct 22 – 8:30 PM

Whirrr! The Music of Jimmy Giuffre presented by Joel Harrison, George Schuller, Billy Drewes, Ohad Talmor, Jacob Garchik, Cameron Brown
Sat Oct 24 – 8:30 PM

Henry Threadgill
Sun Oct 25 – 8:30 PM

Pamela Z
Tue Oct 27 – 8:30 PM

Samuel Vriezen
Wed Oct 28 – 8:30 PM

Shayna Dulberger
Thu Oct 29 – 8:30 PM

Julia Heyward
Sat Oct 31 – 8:30 PM

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

September at Roulette

The September schedule from New York’s Roulette:

3 NIGHTS: SKELETON$ BIG BAND: New Works for a Larger Ensemble
Wed-Fri Sept 7, 8 & 9 – 8:30 PM

INTERPRETATIONS: Works by Yusef Lateef and Adam Rudolph
Thurs Sept 17 – 8:00 PM

Gordon Beeferman’s MUSIC FOR AN IMAGINARY BAND
Tue Sept 22 – 8:30 PM

The Mara Rosenbloom Quartet CD Release
Wed Sept 23 – 8:30 PM

Music of Mario Diaz de Leon Performed by International Contempoary Ensemble (ICE) and Talea: CD Release Event
Fri Sept 25 – 8:30 PM

Lisle Ellis “Stomping Ground”
Sat Sept 26 – 8:30 PM

The Hassay-DeChellis–Nakatani Trio “An Evening of Spontaneous Beauty”
Wed Sept 30 – 8:30 PM

Fay Victor Ensemble “The FreeSongSuite”
Thurs Oct 1 – 8:30 PM

Bisio / Crothers
Fri Oct 2 – 8:30 PM

Tom Hamilton & Bruce Eisenbeil w/ William Hooker
Sat Oct 3 – 8:30 PM

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Ras Moshe Ensemble in Syracuse

From New Thing Productions:

Thank you to everyone that came to the show last night, as usual, Thinguma*jigSaw put on such a nice intimate show that again made me think about picking up the saw as a musical instrument.

So hot on the feet of this last gig, here is another one for you. Free jazz for your head. Come on out and support live music.

May 30th @ 8pm
Ras Moshe Ensemble featuring Matt Lavelle, David Miller, Tor Yochai Snyder, Shayna Dulberger

Ras Moshe has been playing in various groups throughout New York City for almost twenty years, with William Hooker, Sabir Mateen, Steve Swell, Marc Edwards and others. His style has been compared to post-1965 John Coltrane and Frank Wright, among others. Born and raised in New York, and with a family history rich in the jazz tradition, Ras has uniquely positioned himself to bring the lineage of free jazz into the present day.

http://www.myspace.com/rasmoshe

$5.00 to $10.00 donation

Metropolis Underground
615 S. Main St. (backside of building)
N. Syracuse, NY 13212

http://www.metropolisunderground.wordpress.com

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]