Musique Machine Reviews

From Musique Machine:

Earthless – Live at Roadburn
Earthless are a jam band of sorts, who borrow heavily from heavy Japanese Psych along the lines of the Flower Travellin’ Band (with no vocals), mixed with the heavier side of Krautrock. Add Hawkwind into the mix in relation to the band’s “cosmic” side, and you’re partway there. The band has the lineup of a standard power trio. Drummer Mario Rubalcaba previously did time as the drummer for Hot Snakes, The Black Heart Procession, Rocket From the Crypt (under the alias of Ruby Mars) and Clikatat Ikatowi. As if that’s not enough, he was also a member of skateboard pioneer Tony Alva‘s pro-team. Bassist Mike Eginton and guitarist Isaiah Mitchell make up the rest of the band.

Glory Fckn Sun – Vision Scorched
Glory Fckn Sun is a collaboration between PseudoArcana label boss Anthony Milton, Ben Spiers and Simon O’Rorke. The label description says the band was ”formed in 2003 as a conduit for intense ritualistic sonic exploration” and that “Vision Scorched collects together one studio track and two live pieces. These range through long form rumbling distorted deep space explorations (complete with supernova and the odd blackhole), intense yet ethereal harsh noise to close with a droning metaphysical raga-esque paean to the great cosmic inevitable of the collapse of the sun, And of light itself.” How you can hope to intimate the destruction of the solar sytem through improvised noise is beyond me, but the band certainly makes a pretty good go at achieving said goal.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]