Taylor Ho Bynum’s Fall Schedule

From THB’s SpiderMonkey Stories:

Saturday, October 17, 9pm
New Music by Laura Andel
@ The Brecht Forum, 451 West Street (between Bank & Bethune), NYC
THB (cornet), Carl Maguire (Fender Rhodes), Shoko Nagai (piano),
Thomas Buckner (baritone), and the ensemble Gamelan Son of Lion
(Barbara Benary, Lisa Karrer, Skip LaPlante, Denman Maroney, and David
Simons)

Tuesday, October 20, 8pm
Enescu Re-Imagined by Lucian Ban & John Hebert
@ Merkin Concert Hall, 129 West 67th Street, NYC
Mat Maneri (viola), Joyce Hammann (violin), Tony Malaby (tenor sax),
THB (cornet) Badal Roy (tablas), Lucian Ban (piano, orchestrations),
John Hebert (double bass, orchestrations), Gerald Cleaver (drums)
* discount tix available, contact me if you’re interested.

Sunday, October 25, 3pm
Taylor Ho Bynum Quintet
@ Hammond Performing Arts Series at Boston Center for the Arts, 527 Tremont St, Boston, MA
THB (cornet), Bill Lowe (bass trombone), Jim Hobbs (alto saxophone), John Hebert (bass), Gerald Cleaver (drums)

Monday, October 26, 7:30pm
Bynum – Hebert – Cleaver Trio
@ RUCMA/Vision performance series at Local 269, 269 Houston St, NYC
THB (cornet), John Hebert (bass), Gerald Cleaver (drums)

Friday, October 30
Anthony Braxton Trio
@ Deutsches Jazzfestival, Frankfurt, Germany
AB (reeds, electronics), THB (brass), Mary Halvorson (guitar)

Saturday, October 31, 6:30pm
Mary Halvorson & Jessica Pavone with guest THB
@ Botticino Jazz Festival, Botticino, Italy
MH (guitar), JP (viola), THB (cornet)

Monday, November 2, 8pm
Bynum – Hebert – Cleaver Trio
@ Ars Nova Workshop at the Rotunda, 4014 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA
THB (cornet), John Hebert (bass), Gerald Cleaver (drums)

Saturday, November 7, 8:30pm
Bynum – Morris – Schoenbeck Trio
@ IBeam, 168 7th Street, Brooklyn NY
THB (cornet), Joe Morris (guitar), Sara Schoenbeck (bassoon)
with Never Saw This Coming (Rich Johnson, Kirk Knuffke, Brian Drye, Curtis Hasselbring)

Friday, November 13, 8pm
Tyshawn Sorey Quartet
@ AACM at the Community Church, 40 E. 35th St, NYC
TS (drums), THB (cornet), Aaron Stewart (saxophone), John Escreet (piano)
with Amina Claudine Myers’ Ensemble

Monday, November 30, 7:30pm
Jason Kao Hwang’s Edge
@ RUCMA/Vision performance series at Local 269, 269 Houston St, NYC
JKH (violin), THB (cornet), Ken Filiano (bass), Andrew Drury (drums)

Monday, December 21, 7pm
PosCat 3
@ Barbes, 376 9th St, Brooklyn, NY
THB (cornet), Abraham Gomez-Delgado (percussion), Reut Regev (trombone)

Free Jazz Blog Reviews

From Free Jazz:

Sunday, July 5, 2009
Peter Kowald & Vinny Golia – Mythology (Kadima, 2009) ****½

Saturday, July 4, 2009
Jon Balke – Siwan (ECM, 2009) ****

Friday, July 3, 2009
Rozanne Levine – Only Moment (Acoustics, 2009) ***½

Thursday, July 2, 2009
Robert Burger – City Of Strangers (Tzadik, 2009) ****½

Tuesday, June 30, 2009
Demian Richardson – The Gowanus Recordings (577 Records, 2009) ****
John Hébert – Byzantine Monkey (Firehouse 12, 2009) ****

Monday, June 29, 2009
Barry Guy & Mats Gustafsson – Sinners, Rather Than Saints (NoBusiness, 2009) *****

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]