Music on Main Tonight in Vancouver

Music on Main is a small festival taking place this week in Vancouver. Its focus this evening is the works of Louis Andriessen.

Music on Main presents: Turning Point Ensemble | Tuesday, April 7, 2009
louis andriessen festival
Andriessen’s exploration of physical matter in Zilver (“Silver”) is heard alongside the remarkable music of Claude Vivier, whose inventive orchestrations and personal style inspired Andriessen, and a piece by Andriessen’s earliest influence, his father… read more

Music on Main presents: Louis Andriessen, piano | Tuesday, April 7, 2009
louis andriessen festival
From the Montreaux Jazz Festival to La Scala, Amsterdam’s Bimhuis to New York’s Carnegie Hall, Cristina Zavalloni is one of the most sought-after and diverse vocalists in the world. Louis Andriessen has written numerous pieces for her, including… read more

Music on Main presents: One Night Stand, Louis Andriessen | Wednesday, April 8, 2009
louis andriessen festival
Music on Main’s One Night Stands are like one night mini-festivals featuring the music of one composer. With short concerts on the hour and a bar open between sets, it’s a fun way to hear some new music, have a few drinks… read more

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Asko Schoenberg Ensemble on Tour in March

A few European shows from Asko Schoenberg:

Saterday, 14 maart, 16:30 uur
The Hague, Theater aan ‘t Spui

Ligeti Academy

Paroxysmal Distorted Resonance
Periods of ellipsis
Punta de Fuga
For Frank O’Hara
Momenti Musicali

Saterday, 14 maart, 20:30 uur
Rotterdam, Kunsthal, Auditorium

Redsound: Steve Reich

NB. EXTRA CONCERT 23.30 uur: Music for 18 Musicians

Music for 18 Musicians


sound Jan Panis

“The study of non-Western music led me back to myself”, said Steve Reich in an interview. The American composer was referring to the fact that, especially in retrospect, his music showed similarities to traditional music from Africa and Indonesia:”I wound up looking under my own bed”. Shortly after his study trip to Africa Steve Reich composed Drumming, a milestone in recent music history. In this piece he combines the principle of ‘phase shifting’ (allowing motifs to gradually go out of phase with each other over time) with the use of ‘resulting patterns’. This involves a performer highlighting notes from motifs played by his fellow performers as a result of which hidden melodies become audible. This composition is combined with Reich’s final breakthrough work Music for 18 Musicians.

Tueday, 24 maart, 19:15 uur
Amsterdam, Het Concertgebouw, Grote Zaal
Wednesday, 25 maart, 20:00 uur
Antwerp, De Singel

Contemporaries: About Ligeti

7.00 – 7.45 pm: Introduction in the Spiegelzaal

Musica Concertante
Trois airs pour un opéra imaginare
Three Movements (bew. Carlos Sandova)
Violin concerto

conductor Reinbert de Leeuw
soprano Susan Narucki
violin Frank Peter Zimmermann

The great composers of violin concertos from the Romantic period would probably have got the shock of their lives upon hearing Ligeti’s Violin Concerto. His bizarre tonal colours and pulsating ‘cogwheels’ give one the feeling of walking around in an extraterrestrial factory. In this piece, warm harmonies or folkloristic dance motifs suddenly appear, thus revealing that it is a work created by man. And this is exactly what makes the work so oppressive and fascinating.

One could call Ligeti’s tonal universe an imaginary land – a land having several inhabitants, for Claude Vivier claimed his own secluded corner there with serene, fabulous panoramas. Conlon Nancarrow sought his refuge in the engine room: he created a work that can (only just) be performed by real, live musicians out of music he initially composed for mechanical instruments. And in view of the fact that new sound worlds are always derived from a source, a piece by Sándor Veress will be performed, Ligeti’s teacher and the guardian of his Hungarian roots.

Ticket reservations: +31 (0)20 671 83 45

photo: Susan Narucki

Tueday, 31 maart, 20:30 uur
Amsterdam, Conservatorium van Amsterdam, Bernard Haitink Hall


conductor Bas Wiegers

Nine new works lasting seven minutes by composition students at the conservatoires in Amsterdam, The Hague and Rotterdam. Nothing is as important to a young composition student as practical experience. At the same time, it’s vitally important for an ensemble focusing on contemporary music to discover new talent as early as possible. On the threshold of tomorrow’s music history, nine students and musicians from the Asko Ensemble find each other in the works lasting seven minutes.
free entrance

photo: Bas Wiegers (Hans Vissers)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]