Cyclic Law New Releases

Source: Cyclic Law.

TREPANERINGSRITUALEN & NORDVARGR “Konung Krönt i Blod / Salve Teragmon” 7” ep (124th Cycle)

After collaborating on each others previous albums and also working together as Det Kätterska Förbund the idea of messing with each others music came naturally. On this limited 7” you find Nordvargr giving Trepaneringsritualen´s “Konung Krönt i Blod” a gritty and in-your-face treatment and Trepanerinsgritualen putting together a whole band making his mammoth version of Nordvargr´s “Salve Teragmon”. The result is as devastating as you could predict! Artwork by Dehn Sora & T × R × P.

NORDVARGR “Tantum Melior” CD (125th Cycle)

After the success of 2018’s ”Metempsychosis” album, Nordvargr´s most song based recordings ever, we asked close friends and collaborators to create their own interpretations of songs from the album. The result is an interesting blend of styles and methods that expands the Nordvargr universe even further. With exclusive reworks by MZ. 412, Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio, Vassafor, Visions, Kristoffer Oustad, Spetsnaz, Michael Idehall, Thorofon and The Benjolin Codex, the spirit of “Metempsychosis” mutates splendidly into new and unexpected territories. Artwork by Dehn Sora.

NERATERRÆ “The Substance of Perception” CD (138th Cycle)

We welcome Italian artist Alessio Antoni and his project NERATERRÆ. His debut album “The Substance of Perception” is a daring collaborative work featuring some of the finest artists from the Dark Ambient, Drone, Cinematic and Ritual Music scene: Northaunt, Alexey Tegin from Phurpa, Treha Sektori, New Risen Throne, Flowers For Bodysnatchers, Taphephobia, Ugasanie, Xerxes The Dark and Infinexhuma. The sound palette shifts between both stark atmospheres, melancholic ambiance and dense claustrophobic drones. Alternating between obscurity and light and oscillating between the ineffable detachment from the tangible and the relentless transmogrification of the self. Artwork by Nihil & Daria Endresen.

MONOCUBE “Substratum” CD (137th Cycle)

We welcome Ukrainian project MONOCUBE with his latest album since 2016’s “The Rituals”. A suite of wide landscapes painted with modular synth and stringed instruments over eight long form pieces for the most expansive and spellbinding solo release by Monocube to date. The result of no less than two years of assiduous work presents an analog purification of Monocube’s overtones elevated to another level. Featuring Antti Litmanen (Arktau Eos) and Frederic Arbour (Visions). Mastered by James Plotkin. Mixed media artwork by sukkeret.og.pepper studio. Co-Released with Malignant Records (TumorCD120).

New Releases From Clean Feed Records 

Source: Clean Feed Records.

Luis Vicente | Vasco Trilla – A BRIGHTER SIDE OF DARKNESS




Oli Steidle & the Killing Popes – EGO PILLS

Spring Roll – EPISODES

Guillotine – GUILLOTINE

Carlos Bica | Daniel Erdmann | Dj Illvibe – I AM THE ESCAPADE ONE

Matthias Spillmann Trio – LIVE AT THE BIRD’S EYE JAZZ CLUB


Leo Records New Releases 2019/04


Jürg Gasser 3 – Espresso Galattica

Pat Battstone; Feat. Chiara Liuzzi, Giorgia Santoro, Giacomo Mongelli, Adolpho La Volpe, Chris Rathbun – The Last Taxi: New Destinations

Simon Nabatov with Jaap Blonk, Frank Gratkowski, Marcus Schmickler, Gerry Hemingway – Readings, Gileya Revisited

Simon Nabatov with Phil Minton, Frank Gratkowski, Marcus Schmickler, Gerry Hemingway – Readings, Red Cavalry

Ensemble 5; Heinz Geisser, Fridolin Blumer, Reto Staub, Robert Morgenthaler – The Collective Mind

Smalltown Supersound Launches Free Jazz Label 

Source: The Vinyl Factory.

Smalltown Supersound has launched a new sublabel called Actions For Free Jazz. AFFJ follows Smalltown Supersound’s subsidiary imprint Smalltown Superjazzz, which ran from 2005-2012. Its name is an homage to Don Cherry & Krystzof Penderecki’s The New Eternal Rhythm Orchestra track ‘Actions For Free Jazz Orchestra’ from their 1971 album Actions. The label’s first release will be a collaborative album by Christian Marclay and Mats Gustafsson called Link, followed by a Joe McPhee & Paal Nilssen-Love record called Lift Every Voice And Sing.

New pfMENTUM Releases

Source: pfMENTUM.

Wayne Peet Trio: What the?
Wayne Peet – B3 Organ, Clavinet, Theremin, FX
Nels Cline – Guitar, FX
Russell Bizzett – Drums
Recorded June 6 and 7, 2006
Edited, Mixed, and Mastered June to November, 2008
Release Date: April 5, 2019

Richard Valitutto, piano
Dave Wilson, tenor saxophone
Recorded and mixed by Vanessa Parr at the Recording Studio at the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music, Los Angeles, June 10-11 and 27-28, 2016
Mastered by Justin DeHart, Anaheim, California, January 16-17, 2017
Additional engineering by Lorenzo Bühne, Wellington, New Zealand, January 17, 2017

Downtown Music Gallery Newsletter

Source: Downtown Music Gallery.

Michael Bisio / Kirk Knuffke / Fred Lonberg-Holm: Dedicated to Mike Panico! Dave Liebman/Adam Rudolph/Hamid Drake! Michael Attias Solo! Five from Paal Nilssen Love: Boneshaker! Ken Vandermark! Frode Gjerstad! Akira Sakata! Five from FMR: Paul Dunmall Sextet!

Otomo Yoshihide Chilean Quintet! Szilard Mezei Trio! Michel Doneda & Matheiu Bec! Two from Eugene Chadbourne: E. Sharp/Jon Rose/Sun City Girls Son of Shockabilly! Two from Sunnyside: Joe Martin QT & Nick Sanders Trio! Blaise Siwula/Rocco John/G Mazzu/L Troja!

Plus Historic Discs from Cannonball Adderley! Bud Powell! Johnny Griffin! LP’s from Agitation Free! Horace Tapscott & Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra! Dr. Umezu! Herbie Hancock and more..!


The DMG FREE Music Series Continues Every Sunday at 6pm and Features:

Sunday, April 7th:
6pm: CHET DOXAS – Solo Tenor Sax
Alto Sax & Clarinet / Bass / Drums & Percussion

Sunday, April 14th:
6pm: DAVID GROLLMAN – Solo Snare
7pm: DREW WESELY / DAVE ZAKARIAN – Guitar and Alto Sax
8pm: VIV CORRINGHAM / MIA ZABELKA – Voice / Violin

Sunday, April 21st:
7pm: BENJAMIN SCOTT – Drums Reeds / K. HANK JOST – Bass Reeds

Sunday April 28th:
6pm: OMAR & EMILIO TAMEZ – Tribute to Paul Motian

Orenda Records New Releases and Tours

Source: Orenda Records.

Available Now
Samantha Boshnack’s Seismic Belt // Live in Santa Monica
Bryan McAllister // Very Stable Genius

Upcoming Releases
Daniel Rosenboom // Trio Subliminal (feat. Jake Vossler and Tina Raymond)
Walt Weiskopf // European Quartet Worldwide
Nick DePinna // Nexus Music Vol. 1
Tim Conley // The Art of Unfolding, Vol. 1 (feat. Elliott Levin, Daniel Rosenboom, and Matt Mayhall

Upcoming Happenings by Orenda Artists

04/04-04/05: Daniel Rosenboom with DR MiNT // Hitomi Oba with Nick DiPenna, Gene Harris Jazz Festival, Boise State University

04/12: Daniel Corral performs Comma (New York Premiere), Mata Festival

04/13: Summits (Daniel Corral, Joanna Wallfisch, The Koan Quartet), Center for New Music, San Francisco, CA

04/14: Anderies/Warren/Leckie, Battery Books, Pasadena, CA, 8pm

04/14: Daniel Rosenboom with Logan Kane Ensemble, bluewhale, LA

04/25: VDE Big Band, Vitello’s Supper Club, Toluca Lake, CA

04/26: Zach Teran Group with House of Waters, The Loving Cup, Reno, NV

04/27: Trevor Anderies “Samsara” at the South Pasadena Eclectic Music Festival (with Gavin Templeton on sax), Pasadena, CA, free