American Ledger #1 by Raven Chacon in Houston, April 14

Source: Nameless Sound.

The Nameless Sound Ensemble/The Shepherd School Ensemble
Under the direction of Raven Chacon
will perform American Ledger #1

Thursday, April 14, 7pm at Moody Center for the Arts, Rice University

Sarah Ruth Alexander – voice, harmonium, aquaphone
Anthony Almendárez – trumpet, electronics
Tom Carter – electric guitar
Allison DeFrancesco – piccolo
David Dove – trombone
Sonia Flores – double bass, voice
Emmanuel Guajardo – electric bass
Rachel Hulsey – synthesizer
Jason Jackson – saxophone
Badie Khaleghian – electronics
Daniel Leibovic – voice
Nicholas Lindell – viola
Gabriel Martinez – percussion, axe, wood
Rebecca Novak – cornet
Anders Zelinsky – drums, percussion
Sam Wu – conductor

American Ledger No. 1 is a narrative score for performance, telling the creation story of the founding of the United States of America. In chronological descending order, moments of contact, enactment of laws, events of violence, the building of cities, and erasure of land and worldview are mediated through graphic notation, and realized by sustaining and percussive instruments, coins, axe and wood, a police whistle, and a match