2021-22 Season for the Chicago Center for Contemporary Composition

Source: Chicago Center for Contemporary Composition.

Wet Ink
October 2, 2021 / 7:30PM
$20, free with student ID
Named “The Best Classical Music Ensemble of 2018” by The New York Times, Wet Ink’s work is rooted in an ethos of innovation through collaboration. World premieres by composers Ben Lamar Gay, Maria Kaoutzani, Ted Moore, and Alex Mincek.

Grossman Ensemble with Vimbayi Kaziboni, conductor
December 3, 2021 / 7:30PM
$20, free with student ID
Vimbayi Kaziboni, a Zimbabwean-born conductor and curator, leads the Grossman Ensemble in four world premieres by Baldwin Giang, Dongryul Lee, Amy Williams, and Krzysztof Wolek.

Ekmeles + Sandbox Percussion
January 22, 2022 / 7:30PM
Vocal ensemble Ekmeles and Sandbox Percussion join forces to premiere six new works by UChicago graduate student composers Baldwin Giang, Maria Kaoutzani, Paul Novak, Yuting Tan, Kari Watson, and Justin Weiss.

Grossman Ensemble with Tim Weiss, conductor
March 4, 2022 / 7:30PM
$20, free with student ID
Critically acclaimed conductor Timothy Weiss leads the Grossman Ensemble in four world premieres by composers Eric Nathan, Ingrid Laubrock, Daniel Pesca (pianist of the Grossman Ensemble), and the Center’s Postdoctoral Researcher Felipe Tovar-Henao.

Quatuor Diotima
April 6, 2022 / 7:30PM
Quatuor Diotima presents a concert of world premiere works written by University of Chicago composers Paul Novak, Justin Weiss, Kari Watson, Andrew Stock, Baldwin Giang, Gabriel Novak, and Felipe Tovar-Henao.

Fonema Consort
April 16, 2022 / 8:00PM
Fonema Consort will perform works for various instrumentations by University of Chicago composers Hunter Brown, Darlene Castro, Andrew Stock, Gabriel Novack, Ted Moore, and Rodrigo Bussad.

Grossman Ensemble with James Baker, conductor
May 20, 2022 / 7:30PM
$20, free with student ID
Baker returns to the Chicago Center for Contemporary Composition for a second opportunity to work with the Grossman Ensemble on four new works by Zosha Di Castri, Christopher Trapani, David Serkin Ludwig, and Frédéric Durieux in the final concert of the season.