Ensemble Dal Niente Performance on June 26

Source: Ensemble Dal Niente.

Dal Niente Party 2021: Once More, With Streaming
June 26, 2021 @ 7:00pm-8:30pm
Webcast Fundraiser: $25 suggested donation

CHICAGO: On June 26, Ensemble Dal Niente presents a program filled with some of our favorite music of our time, including a wild new premiere by Osnat Netzer. Sink into sound with world-class pianist Winston Choi as he performs Jeffrey Mumford’s entrancing, virtuosic piano concerto, Becoming…., which Mumford wrote for him in 2015. Embrace dynamism, dimensionality, and shifting textures with hornist Matt Oliphant as he performs Dai Fujikura’s Horn Concerto No. 2 for horn and ensemble. Listen deeply to sopranos Amanda DeBoer Bartlett and Carrie Henneman Shaw as they star in the world premiere of Osnat Netzer’s staggeringly zany new work, I Won’t Be Outrun by a Cavalry of Snails. And dive into a world of sliding sonic relationships in Miya Masaoka’s masterful quartet, The Dust and the Noise.

“Are there other musicians anywhere in the world who have the requisite combination of badassery and insanity to try to pull off a program like this?” says Michael Lewanski, conductor of Ensemble Dal Niente. “I’m not sure there are. Like, these people are ridiculous.”

Of Dal Niente’s performance of I Won’t Be Outrun by a Cavalry of Snails, Osnat Netzer says: “These are my wildest dreams, and they are coming to life. Literally, because this piece is insane.”

This webcast marks the final fundraiser for Ensemble Dal Niente as the group emerges from a season hamstrung by a global pandemic, having overcome new obstacles in order to present several groundbreaking concerts of new music. Access to the webcast will be free, and listeners who wish to donate may do so at http://www.dalniente.com/support.


Jeffrey Mumford Becoming . . . (2015) for solo piano and ensemble
Winston Choi, Piano

Osnat Netzer, I Won’t Be Outrun by a Cavalry of Snails (2021)* for two sopranos and ensemble
Amanda DeBoer Bartlett and Carrie Henneman Shaw, Sopranos

Dai Fujikura Horn Concerto No. 2 (2018) for solo horn and ensemble
Matt Oliphant, Horn

Miya Masaoka, The Dust and the Noise (2013) for piano, percussion, cello, and violin