Chris and Cosey Reflect on Throbbing Gristle’s Legacy 

Source: Bandcamp Daily.

From COUM came the formation of Throbbing Gristle, featuring Cosey Fanni Tutti, Genesis P-Orridge, Chris Carter, and Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson. Formed in 1975, they only lasted 6 years before imploding, but in that short time frame they proved to be a potent musical force, melding electronics, distorted rock, experimental noise, and discordant post-punk, which led them to being heralded as one of the pioneers of industrial music. Their 1979 album 20 Jazz Funk Greats—a riotous concoction of eerie atmospheres, churning drones, hissing static, and pulsing grooves—was later named the greatest industrial album of all time by Pitchfork, as well as the best album of the entire 1970’s by FACT.