Henry Threadgill Chosen as NEA Jazz Master

Source: NPR.

Those four 2021 inductees — saxophonist, flutist and composer Henry Threadgill; drummers Albert “Tootie” Heath and Terri Lyne Carrington; and radio host and jazz historian Phil Schaap — will each receive $25,000 along with their title. The NEA Jazz Masters fellowship, awarded every year since 1982, is the nation’s highest honor reserved for living jazz artists and advocates. Selections are made through a public nomination process, followed by an expert panel review.