Edgetone Records New Releases

Source: Edgetone Records.

Phillip Greenlief
Bellingham for David Ireland
Bellingham for David Ireland, one of Greenlief’s forty or so map-works, is made from cut-up and color-copied maps of Bellingham, the small, bayside city in northwestern Washington where the titular artist grew up. Each section references a part of Bellingham or Ireland’s life, and includes a cluster of themes and suggestions for performers: the bay, for resting and listening; the lavender street grid, for considering impositions on open space; the beige topography, for responding to nearby objects; the scale of the town’s hills, for emphasizing dynamics. Another section, with imagery related to Bellingham’s coalmine, suggests players conjure sounds that they imagine boring deep into the earth.
Wobbly – electronics
Karen Stackpole – gongs, percussion
Phillip Greenlief – tenor saxophone
Kip Kipperman contrabass
Aurora Josephson – voice
Gabby Fluke-Mogul – violin
Zachary James Watkins – electronics
Carl Ludwig Hubsch – tuba

Otherworld Ensemble
Return from Manala
Return from Manala continues a musical journey that started with the Otherworld Cycle. The music was created near the end of a three week tour presenting Rent Romus and Heikki Koskinen’s suite of music entitled Manala. The group gathered in Finland in 2019 and recorded live at Kaapelitehdas (The Cable Factory) in the heart of Helsinki. Manala is the ancient spiritual underworld of the Fino-Ugric cultures, the opposite of the land of the living a place of great mystery, danger and knowledge. In cultures that respected the role of the shaman, returning from the underworld with knowledge to help their community was paramount. Return from Manala represents a series of group improvisations and written structures within the theme of Manala and features master musician/improvisers Mikko Innanen and Rent Romus, the voice of ethnomusicologist Dr. Heikki Laitinen, and Finnish Jazz legends Teppo Hauta-aho and Heikki “Mike” Koskinen.
Heikki Laitinen – voice, shaman drum, small percussion
Teppo Hauta-aho – cello, double bass*, percussion
Heikki “Mike” Kosikinen – tenor recorder, e-trumpet
Mikko Innanen – alto, sopranino, baritone saxophones, percussion
Rent Romus – alto saxophone, flutes, percussion