Santa Monica Public Library Upcoming Performances

Source: Santa Monica Public Library.

On Wednesday February 26, 2020, at 7:30PM, The Soundwaves new music series at the Santa Monica Public Library welcome the trio of also saxophonist Yves Charuest, bassist Lisle Ellis, and drummer Peter Valsamis to the Main Library Martin Luther King Jr. Auditorium, at 601 Santa Monica Blvd, for a set of free jazz. A working band putting the finishing touches on the debut album, this trio began playing together in the late 1980s in Montreal. Over the years, they have developed a distinct and personal collective musical language. Drawing inspiration from jazz and avant-garde music, the trio’s measured pace brings space and clarity to their ideas and interaction, shifting between traditional jazz and extended techniques. They have individually performed with artists including Steve Lacy, Cecil Taylor, Dave Douglas, Joe McPhee, Marco Eneidi, and members of the Sun Ra Arkestra. Their repertoire includes creative reimaginings of compositions by masters including Thelonious Monk and Ornette Coleman, as well as free improvisation.

The Soundwaves new music series at the Santa Monica Public Library welcomes pianist Thomas Kotcheff Thursday February 27, 2020, at 7:30pm, to the Main Library Martin Luther King Jr. Auditorium at 601 Santa Monica Blvd. A graduate of Johns Hopkins and USC, Kotcheff is a rising star as a soloist, a composer, and as half of the piano duo HOCKET, working with Eighth Blackbird, Bang on a Can, and performing at Disney Hall, the Carlsbad Music Festival, and many other prestigious venues. This concert is an informal free preview and discussion of selections from “Songs of Insurrection,” a concert-length work based on protest songs from around the world, written in 2018 by Frederic Rzewski. This is the latest in Rzewski’s series of pieces based on political melodies and texts, including “Coming Together” (1971), “36 Variations on ‘The People United Will Never be Defeated’” (1975), “Four North American Ballads” (1979), “De Profundis” (1991), and other landmark compositions.