Orenda Records New and Coming Releases

Source: Orenda Records.

Nick DePinna // Nexus Music Vol. 1
Los Angeles composer/trombonist Nick DePinna releases Nexus Music, Vol. 1, a distinctly modern vision for the traditional big band ensemble, and the first in a series of releases on the forward-thinking and genre-defying label, Orenda Records. This first EP release features three of DePinna’s compositions written over the past ten years amidst extensive work in film and television music, collaborations and mentorships with luminaries like James Newton, Kenny Burrell, and Lalo Schifrin, and touring as a member of the Brian Setzer Orchestra.
Saxophones – Dan Kaneyuki, Hitomi Oba, Tim McKay
Trumpets – James Blackwell, Tom Terrell, Noah Meites
Trombone – Nick DePinna
Vibraphone – Christian Tamburr (3)
Guitar – Brady Cohan (1), Brandon Bae (2,3)
Piano and Keyboards – Ross Garren
Bass – Tim Lefebvre (1), Noah Garabedian (2,3)
Drums – Jake Reed (1,3), Michael Lindsay (2)
Percussion – Roland Gajate-Garcia (1)

Walt Weiskopf // European Quartet Worldwide
Featuring jazz tenor giant, composer, author Walt Weiskopf, and three of Europe’s most exciting rhythm section artists: pianist Carl Winther, bassist Andreas Lang, and drummer Anders Mogensen, the album showcases the confluence of the most sought-after and highly-acclaimed contemporary international jazz musicians of our time. Recorded in Copenhagen at the conclusion of WWEQ’s European and Scandinavia tour earlier this year, “Worldwide” is now available for pre-order until May 2, 2019, and features all compositions written by Weiskopf, rounded out with “Soultrane,” written by Tadd Dameron and “The Pawnbroker” by the legendary Quincy Jones. “The chance to work with musicians of like-mind is priceless,” says Weiskopf. “I’ve had the opportunity to perform with these three amazing Danish jazz musicians for the past few years. Our collaboration together to record ‘Worldwide’ is the culmination of these efforts thus far.”
Walt Weiskopf – Tenorsax
Carl Winther – Piano
Andreas Lang – Bass
Anders Mogensen – Drums

Coming May 24th:
Tim Conley // The Art of Unfolding, Volume 1
Tim Conley – Electric Guitars
Elliott Levin – Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Spoken Word
Dan Rosenboom – Cornet
Matt Mayhall – Drums