Ensemble Dal Niente Presents Undersea in Chicago

Source: Ensemble Dal Niente.

SUNDAY, MAY 5, 2019 @ 3:30PM
Steppenwolf 1700
1700 N. Halsted, Chicago, IL
Tickets $20 general admission/ $15 student

CHICAGO: On May 5, the Dal Niente Woodwind Trio presents a program that is at once virtuosic, joyful, and strange, featuring the world premiere of Victoria Cheah’s luminous Undersea for piccolo, english horn, and bass clarinet. The trio will explore the full array of sounds available to contemporary woodwind players, from the evocative gestures of Brian Ferneyhough’s In nomine a 3 to the shimmering, shifting textures of Hans Abrahamsen’s Flowersongs to the squeals, sucks, and sibilance of Carola Bauckholt’s Zopf , whose language is “laden with extended techniques that demand intense concentration” (-The New York Times). Also included on the program is Meditation on Collision by Ruby Landau-Pincus, who created this interactive electronic score for Dal Niente while still a high school student, after working with members of the ensemble at the Walden school.

Undersea is presented as part of the LookOut Series – Steppenwolf’s performance series that presents the work of artists and companies across genre and form.

Victoria Cheah, Undersea (world premiere 2019)
Hans Abrahamsen, Flowersongs (1973/2012)
Carola Bauckholt, Zopf (1992/94)
Sandra Lemus Hernandez, II (2011)
Alex Temple, Thick Line (2012)
Joël-François Durand, In the Mirror Land (2003)
Brian Ferneyhough, In nomine a 3 (2001)
Franco Donatoni, Triplum (1995)
Ruby Landau-Pincus, Meditation on Collision (2019)

Featuring: Emma Hospelhorn, Flutes; Andrew Nogal, Oboe and English Horn; Katherine Schoepflin Jimoh, Clarinets