Shortlist for Scottish New Music Awards Announced

Source: New Music Scotland.

Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale Work sponsored by Steinberg (1-10 performers)
James Dillon – Quartet No. 9
Claire McCue – I Regret Your Sex
Lisa Robertson – The Inimitable Brightness of the Air

Large scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music
Helen Grime – Woven Space
David Fennessy – Triptych
Ailie Robertson – Caoineadh

The Good Spirits Co award for innovation in New Traditional Music
Ailie Robertson – Seven Sorrows
Grit Orchestra – Bothy Culture

EVM Award for Electroacoustic/sound art work
Louise Harris – Visaurihelix
Alex Menzies – Other World Music Vol 1
Pippa Murphy – Breathe In Me

Community/Education project
Get Composing – sound
Incredible Distance – Scottish Chamber Orchestra / WHALE Arts / Fruitmarket Gallery / Scottish Society of Artists
Lost At Sea – East Neuk Festival / Scanner / Svend McEwan-Brown

The RCS Award for Contribution to new music in Scotland
Red Note Ensemble
Enterprise Music Scotland
Fiona Robertson

Prize for Collaboration
Anthems for Queer Youth – Patricia Auchterlonie / Gareth Mattey / Savage Parade / Robert Reid Allan
Simon Thacker’s Svara – Kanti Simon Thacker Neyveli/ B. Venkatesh/ K.V. Gopalakrishna/ N Guruprasad/ Farida Yesmin/ Raju Das Baul / Sunayana Ghosh
WEAR – Alistair White / UU Studios / Gemma A. Williams

Recorded New Work
ANNO:Four Seasons by Anna Meredith & Antonio Vivaldi – Anna Meredith and the Scottish Ensemble – Moshi Moshi Music
Out of Silence – John Mcleod / RSNO / Evelyn Glennie / Holly Mathieson – Delphian Records
softLOUD – Sean Shibe – Delphian Records

Award for Creative Programming
The Night With…

The RCS Award for Making it Happen
Glasgow Experimental Music Series
Nevis Ensemble
Nordic Viola

New Music Performer(s) of the Year
Drake Music Scotland
Garth Knox