April 27, 2019
I Don’t Hear Nothin’ but the Blues, HappyLucky no.1
Mick Barr Jon Irabagon Ava Mendoza Mike Pride

April 25, 2019
Beat Circus, National Sawdust
Emily Bookwalter Brian Carpenter Paul Dilley Ryan Fessinger Gavin McCarthy Abigale Reisman Andrew Stern

April 26, 2019
Simone Weißenfels, Keir Neuringer, Tcheser Holmes, IBeam
Tcheser Holmes Keir Neuringer Simone Weißenfels

April 26, 2019
Carol Liebowitz, Ken Filiano, Michael Wimberly, IBeam
Ken Filiano Carol Liebowitz Michael Wimberly

April 25, 2019
Tredici Bacci, National Sawdust
Evan Allen Ludovica Burtone William Greene Simon Hanes Jesse Heasly Lucy Hollier Joanna Mattrey Dylan Mckinstry Peter Moffett Tree Palmedo Daniel Pencer Abigale Reisman Leia Slosberg Sami Stevens Abby Swidler JG Thirlwell

April 23, 2019
Dave Rempis, Brandon Lopez, Ryan Packard, Eric’s House Of Improv
Brandon Lopez Ryan Packard Dave Rempis

April 15, 2019
Levy Lorenzo & Peter Evans, Roulette
Peter Evans Levy Lorenzo

5049 Records Podcast Episode 205 – James Plotkin 

Source: 5049 Records.

James Plotkin is a legend of underground music. Active for the past three decades as a guitarist, composer, producer and mastering engineer, his influence across a broad range of adventurous music cannot be overstated. From his earliest days with Regurgitation to his participation in Khanate, one of the most influential metal bands of the last twenty years, James has been steadily contributing to the language of modern dark music. He is also a lynchpin of the 5049 label, having mastered all but one of our releases. For this talk we go back ton his earliest days in Jersey, hanging out with Morbid Angel as a teenager, making electronic music, mixing and mastering records and a whole lot more. James Plotkin is a first rate artist who deserves serious attention.

Thumbscrew at Big Ears Reviewed

Source: Bird is the Worm.

The trio of guitarist Mary Halvorson, bassist Michael Formanek and drummer Tomas Fujiwara possess a cryptic sound, something that incorporates each musician’s distinct individual form of expression that, also, somehow, almost unexpectedly, meshes perfectly into a single, crisp perspective. And it’s an equation whose success proves out whether they’re composing their own odd sonic machinations or covering works from jazz legends of a wayback era. It’s quite magical. And seeing it happen live…? It was surreal.

Electric Eclectics 2019 Lineup Announced

Source: Electric Eclectics Festival. Takes place in Meaford, Ontario, August 2-4.


Lee Ranaldo & Leah Singer (New York)
Alex Zhang Hungtai & Pierre Guerineau duo (Los Angeles/Montreal)
David First (New York)
Alexis Ohara (Montreal)
Hélène Barbier (Montreal)
Lee Paradise (Toronto)
Freaky Boos (Hamilton)
Cares + WHQB (Toronto)
Bonnie Doon (Ottawa)
Adam Basanta (Montreal)
Freelove Fenner (Montreal)
Alexander Dupuis (Rhode Island)
bBomit (Hamilton)
Lary 7 (New York)
Danielle Dahl (Denmark)
Kai Basanta (Vancouver)
Anthems of the Void (Toronto/New York)
Honeymoonphase (Toronto)
Leucrocuta (Toronto)
Lung (Cincinnati)
First Winter (Owen Sound)
Malobre (Collingwood)
Joshua Richardson (Owen Sound)
Kevin Griffin & Michael Snider (Meaford)


Michael J Brown (Toronto)
Ankle Mix (Toronto)
1KW (Munich)
Osound (Owen Sound)
Eye Double-You (Owen Sound)
Buck Washenfold (Toronto)
Matt Wills (Toronto)


Trinketron (Guelph)
Sonia Paço-Rocchia (Montreal)
Rob Gill (Toronto)
Nightlifeguard (Toronto/Picton)
Funny Farm Radio (Toronto/New York/Meaford)
Mike Yuhasz & Cam McKittrick (Owen Sound)
Dwight Siegner (Windsor)

May at the IBeam Brooklyn

Source: IBeam Brooklyn.

FRIDAY, MAY 3, 2019
8:00 PM 9:30 PM
Max Kutner (Fax Mutner) – Guitar, Compositions
Eli Asher – Trumpet, Toys, Percussion
Colin Avery Hinton – Drums, Percussion
The character of the material realized by Trio Generale fluidly navigates the outer bounds of punk, math rock, modern jazz and free improvisation in a sneering fashion which distorts or ignores the imagined hierarchical borders between those genres and more.

8:00 PM 9:00 PM
Daniel Carter (tenor, alto, soprano, clarinet, flute, trumpet)
Ben Sutin (violin, viola)
Billy Mintz (drums)
Luca Soul Rosenfeld (bass)

FRIDAY, MAY 10, 2019
8:00 PM 10:00 PM
8:00 PM
Carol Liebowitz – solo piano
9:00 PM
Adam Caine – guitar
Robert Dick – flute

SATURDAY, MAY 11, 2019
8:30 PM 11:00 PM
2 Sets – 8:30 and 9:45
Sam Ospovat – drums/compositions
Kim Cass – bass
Matt Mitchell – piano
Brandon Seabrook – guitar
Nick Lyons – alto
Lorin Benedict – scat vocals