AMN Reviews: Daniel & Mikael Tjernberg – Anton (2019; Bandcamp)

The term “cinematic” gets thrown around in reviews to describe music that resembles soundtrack material.  But there is a big difference between something that could be a soundtrack versus something that is actually intended to be one. Brothers Daniel and Mikael Tjernberg were inspired by Anton, a short sci-fi thriller film by Visual Cooks, and this album with the same name is the soundtrack. As such, is it varied and jarring, covering a wide swath of colors and textures.  Instrumentation is focused on synths, drums and percussion, bass and acoustic guitar, and chanted vocals combined with orchestral strings and brass.

Thematically, Anton is on the dark side. The drumming is martial and ominous, the classical themes heady and symphonic.  On the other hand, Postapocalyptic Landscape, the aptly-title third track, is an acoustic guitar / bass / drums / synth piece, that harkens to progressive rock. But perhaps the most enjoyable track is Out of Hand, an experimental piece that uses space to build tension between quirky synth outbursts and disjointed chamber rock themes.

Anton is not brand new music – a limited edition CD was originally released in 2013. But this version of the album has been remastered, and features a rich, crisp sound. If you like your music atmospheric and haunting look no further. Highly recommended.

A Closer Listen Reviews

Source: A Closer Listen.

Bruno Bavota ~ RE_CORDIS

Diego Lozano & Roberto Tercero ~ Carraca

Richard Skelton ~ A Great Body Rising and Falling / Another Hand

Christoph Lammers, Andreas Usenbenz ~ Drawing in Sound

Bruno Duplant & David Vélez ~ our seasons reverse

GNOD (R & D) ~ Vol. 3

Endless Melancholy ~ Fragments of Scattered Whispers / PRINT/TRACK 05 (with Hotel Neon)

The Music of Anthony Braxton: Syntactical Ghost Trance // Echo Echo Mirror House in NY, January 25

Source: Roulette.

The Music of Anthony Braxton: Syntactical Ghost Trance // Echo Echo Mirror House
Friday, January 25, 2019 @ 8:00 pm
The 11-person Tri-Centric Vocal Ensemble perform works from Anthony Braxton’s Syntactical Ghost Trance Music system—demonstrating the unique sonic tapestry of the compositions and the possibilities of the vocal choir—in celebration of the release of GTM (Syntax) 2017: an album documenting all twelve compositions of his system recorded under the guidance of Anthony Braxton himself.

The evening closes with a performance of another Braxton music system: Echo Echo Mirror House Music, by the duo of Carl Testa on electronics and Cory Smythe on piano.

Tri-Centric Vocal Ensemble (voices):
Roland Burks
Tomas Cruz
Lucy Dhegrae
Chris DiMeglio
K Fung
Nick Hallett
Kyoko Kitamura
Adam Matlock
Anne Rhodes
Kamala Sankaram
Elizabeth Saunders

Carl Testa/Cory Smythe Duo
Carl Testa (electronics)
Cory Smythe (piano)

The Bridge 2nd Cycle Starting Soon

The Bridge, a loose organization of U.S. and European based musicians, will start a second cycle in 2019, a new generation of ensembles, 15 in total, which should take them to 2025. The U.S. tour, with this second cycle, won’t just take place in Chicago, and will have extensions in the Midwest each time, as far as Saint Louis, Detroit, Pittsburgh, Montreal…


TB #2.2 Mai Sugimoto Raymond Boni Kent Kessler Paul Rogers

TB #2.3 Marvin Tate Erwan Keravec Gerrit Hatcher Lia Kohl Gaspar Claus

TB #2.4 Damon Locks Morgane Carnet Macie Stewart Jozef Dumoulin Fanny Lasfargues

TB #2.8 Rajiv Halim Florian Nastorg Yoram Rosilio Mikel Patrick Avery

TB #2.9 Sakina Abdou Julien Pontvianne Ugochi Nwaogwugwu Coco Elysses Julien Chamla

TB #2.10 Nick Mazzarella Tim Stine Céline Rivoal Katie Ernst Sylvain Lemêtre

TB #2.5 Ben Lamar Gay Sam Pluta Sophie Agnel Pascal Niggenkemper

TB #2.6 Quentin Biardeau Corey Wilkes Justin Dillard Etienne Ziemniak

TB #2.7 Isaiah Collier Jaimie Branch Rafaelle Rinaudo Gilles Coronado Tim Daisy

TB #2.11 Jean-Brice Godet Greg Ward Hélène Labarrière Isaiah Spencer

TB #2.12 Magic Malik Angel Bat Dawid Richard Comte Nick Macri Toma Gouband

TB #2.13 Jeff Albert Irvin Pierce Paul Wacrenier Christian Dillingham Nicolas Pointard

TB #2.14 Tim Haldeman Fidel Fourneyron Antonin Rayon Thibault Cellier Marcus Evans

TB #2.15 Bertrand Denzler Basile Naudet Junius Paul Vincent Davis Will Guthrie

TB #2.16 Peter Maunu Simon Henocq Luca Ventimiglia Julian Kirshner

Droneuary From Silber Records

Silber Records is curating a series of daily releases for the month of January (and perhaps February as well), each being a drone-based recording of varied length. All can be streamed and downloaded for free. Some of the initial ones include:

Droneuary I – Slicnaton – Provenance
Droneuary II – Littered With Arrows – Ever Distant And Constant Shadow
Droneuary III – Drekka + Þórir Georg – Beings of ImberIndus
Droneuary IV – Lycia – The Emptiness Of Airports
Droneuary V – Baptizer – Holodomor
Droneuary VI – 80’s Horns – Poser of Sleep
Droneuary VII – Nonconnah – Bruised Hearts Burn Like Cellophane
Droneuary VIII – Ocean in a Bottle – Dawn Chorus
Droneuary IX – Mason Jones – The Giants Hold The Key To Other Stars

Here’s the current & still expanding remaining roster:
Electric Bird Noise, Fornever, If Thousands, Subscape Annex, Grand Kali Ma, Switchblade Kid, Martin Newman, CHANGES TO blind, Determinist?, Doors In The Labyrinth, Llarks, Carl Kruger, Tristan Welch, Premature Burial, X-Bax, Sommer Drekka, The Corrupting Sea, Philip Polk Palmer, Nebh, remst8, Gargle, Robert Poss, The Sand Rays, xLWBxDRx, sound_00/lefterna, Remora, ShieldEyesFromLight, The Strange Walls, Luka Fisher, Seesar, Small Life Form, Petridisch, Anaccordion, Weather Machine, Konbanwa, Chvad SB, Heavy for the Vintage, mwvm.