Seattle Scene: October 10-20, 2018

From Seattle’s Wayward Music Series:

WAYWARD MUSIC SERIES

Chapel Performance Space at Good Shepherd Center

4th Floor, 4649 Sunnyside Ave. N, Seattle 98103 (corner N 50th St. in Wallingford)

Every month, Nonsequitur and a community of like-minded presenters and artists offer ten concerts of adventurous music in an informal yet respectful all-ages setting: contemporary classical, free improvisation, the outer limits of jazz, electronic music, microtonal/new instruments, sound art, and other extraordinary sonic experiences.

Earshot: Amy Denio
Wed. Oct. 10, 8 PM; $18, $16, $10

The beloved saxophonist, vocalist, multi-instrumentalist, and co-founder of the singular Tiptons known as Seattle’s Avant Goddess, Amy Denio shares compositions and improvisations exploring her 4-octave voice colored by electronics. A born improviser conjuring up a rich blend of sounds, Denio was inducted into the Seattle Jazz Hall of Fame in 2015. Presented by Earshot Jazz Festival.

Earshot: Marina Albero
Fri. Oct. 12, 8 PM; $18, $16, $10

This now-Seattle-based master of the piano, vibes, and psalterium (hammered dulcimer) has been touring the world since a child in her Barcelona family band. After conservatory studies, she worked with greats like Pepe Habichuela and Carlos Saura. Presented by Earshot Jazz Festival.

FRI. 10/19 – Lori Goldston & Chris Icasiano play solo sets and a duo set

SAT. 10/20 – Hotel Neon (Philadelphia) + Benoît Pioulard (Seattle) + Marcus Fischer (PDX)

The Free Jazz Collective Reviews

Source: The Free Jazz Collective.

Full Blast: Live at Cafe Oto 10/4/2018

Recent Releases from Yoni Kretzmer and Assif Tsahar

Solo Violin

Jamie Saft Quartet – Blue Dream (RareNoiseRecords, 2018) ****

William Parker – Voices Fall from the Sky (Centering, 2018) ****

Naked City – Live in Quebec ’88 (Air Cuts, 2017) ***½

Norbert Rodenkirchen / Robbie Lee / James Ilgenfritz – Opalescence (Telegraph Harp, 2018) ****

Soft Machine Live Stream on October 12

Source: The Iridium.

You are invited to watch FREE LIVE STREAMING of SOFT MACHINE’s
4th concert on the band’s first ever North American Tour since 1974,
at the legendary New York City’s venue THE IRIDIUM.

John Etheridge – guitar
Theo Travis – sax, flute, keyboards
Roy Babbington – bass guitar
John Marshall – drums

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2018
8:00pm sharp New York time (EST)
London 1:00am (Saturday, October 13)
Paris/Rome/Frankfurt 2:00am (Saturday, October 13)
Moscow/Athens 3:00am (Saturday, October 13)
Jakarta 7:00am (Saturday, October 13)
Tokyo 9:00am (Saturday, October 13)

Fred Lerdahl Tribute Concert in NY Tonight

Source: Carnegie Hall.

Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall
October 10, 2018 at 8pm

Duo for Cello and Piano (2017)
Chris Gross, Steven Beck

String Quartet no. 4 “Chaconne” (2016)
(New York premiere)
Daedalus Quartet

Three Bagatelles, for violin and guitar (2017)
(New York premiere)
Emma Meinrenken, Xiaobo Pu

Cyclic Descent, for piano and large ensemble (2018)
(World premiere)
Steven Beck, Talea Ensemble
James Baker, conductor

House Once Owned by John and Alice Coltrane Named National Treasure 

Source: The New York Times.

In 1964, John Coltrane ascended to an upstairs room of a two-story house in Huntington, N.Y., and made compositions that would turn into one of the most revered albums in jazz: “A Love Supreme.” Later that decade, Alice Coltrane recorded her solo debut record, “A Monastic Trio,” in a studio in the basement.

The Coltrane Home, where John Coltrane lived between 1964 and his death in 1967 and Alice Coltrane, his wife, lived until the early ’70s, has been named a “National Treasure” by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The organization will assist with renovation and preservation efforts at the home, which is in disrepair.