Cage, Foss, Stockhausen, Rabinovitch-Barakovsky Performance in LA, October 5

Source: Monday Evening Concerts.

John Cage – In a Landscape
Lukas Foss – Time Cycle
Karlheinz Stockhausen – Refrain
Alexandre Rabinovitch-Barakovsky – Récit de voyage

ECHOI Ensemble
Movses Pogossian, violin
Coleman Iztkoff, cello
Phil O’Connor, clarinet
Marisa Gupta, piano
Steven Vanhauwaert, piano and celesta
Todd Moellenberg, celesta
Dustin Donahue, percussion
Shoushik Barsoumian, soprano
Jonathan Hepfer, conductor and percussion

As a prelude to its 2018/19 concert season, Monday Evening Concerts offers a program of works by four composers who were inspired by music from a geographic distance. Cage’s In a Landscape channels Debussy and Satie. Lukas Foss’s Time Cycle unites the sonorities and poetries of his native Germany and his adopted home of the United States. Karlheinz Stockhausen’s Refrain pushes the ordered language of the European avant-garde to its upper limit, and then subverts it by adding a chance element borrowed from American experimentalism. And Alexandre Rabinovitch-Barakovsky’s Récit de voyage synthesizes influences as diverse as Terry Riley and Schubert into a unique work that is unlike anything preceding it.