Seattle Scene: May 31 – June 9, 2018

From Seattle’s Wayward Music Series:


Chapel Performance Space at Good Shepherd Center

4th Floor, 4649 Sunnyside Ave. N, Seattle 98103 (corner N 50th St. in Wallingford)

Every month, Nonsequitur and a community of like-minded presenters and artists offer ten concerts of adventurous music in an informal yet respectful all-ages setting: contemporary classical, free improvisation, the outer limits of jazz, electronic music, microtonal/new instruments, sound art, and other extraordinary sonic experiences.

Christian Asplund & Melissa Heath
Thu. May 31, 8 PM; $5 – $15 donation at door

Melissa Heath and Christian Asplund perform an eclectic mix of works for soprano with piano and viola. The program includes mysteriously lyrical songs by Ligeti and Lutoslawski, an early cycle by Messiaen, characteristically laconic selections from Webern’s Op. 12 cycle, works by Cage and Ives, a Javanese tinged-song by Jarrad Powell, and a characteristically eclectic mini-opera by Asplund.

FRI. 6/1 – Kestrel + LA LUNGS + Blessed Blood + Kole Galbraith/Matt Pollack

SAT. 6/2 – Gift Tapes/DRAFT presents electronic music by Arun Chandra and Scott Goodwin

THU. 6/7 – Ramen Trio plays composed and improvised music that is informed by jazz but not bound by it

FRI. 6/8 – Nonsequitur presents Canadian electronic composer Sarah Davachi + Seattle cellist Lori Goldston

SAT. 6/9 – Seattle Modern Orchestra performs the West Coast premier of British composer Jonathan Harvey’s Bhakti, for chamber ensemble and quadraphonic tape

Baltimore SDIY Group Announces Summerfest Concert One

The Baltimore SDIY Group announces its 2018 Summerfest Concert One, to be held Saturday, June 2, at the Electric Maid, 268 Carroll Street NW, Washington DC 20012. The concert is all-ages with a $10 admission.

The concert features Akousma; Kantoendrato; Synth Tech Project; and Amber Dunleavy & Arthur Harrison.

Saturday, June 2, 7:30 PM. Doors at 7:00.

For more information, visit the Baltimore SDIY webpages.

Re:Sound Festival in Cleveland, June 7-10

Source: Re:Sound.

JUNE 7 – 10, 2018
Re:Sound is an annual new music festival that brings together and showcases pioneers in the arts with diverse programming at venues throughout Cleveland.

Elizabeth A. Baker
(St. Petersburg, FL)
Elizabeth A. Baker – Locomotion (2017), Command Voices (2017)

James Burch
Phong Tran – Durability Problems (2017)
Corey Cunningham – From Down Here (2016)

John Corkill
Seung-Won Oh – Circle (2004)
Kyong Mee Choi – Flowerlips (2006)

Eclectic Laboratory Chamber Orchestra
Alan Tormey – Second Commentary on the Natures of Realism (2014)

Fat Pigeon
Fat Pigeon – Page of Tin (2016), A Feign Opt (2017), and free improvisation

Phil Pierick and Kurt Galván
(Cleveland / Rochester)
David Clay Mettens – Passacaglia (2016)
Vicente Hansen Atria – mother flame light blue mother flake dark blue chrysoprase brilliant fire green (2017)

Shanna Gutierrez
Eric Chasalow – Ariel Fantasy (2017)
Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf – atsiminimas (2016)

Stephan Haluska
free improvisation

James Iman
Jenny Black – Stand Still Here (2012)
Jonghee Kang – The Ocean Was Still (2013)

(Detroit / LA / NYC)
Jocelyn Hagen – Gwendolen’s Dream (2001)
Steven Knell – Anthemoessa (2012)
Sarah Hersh – In Praise of Continuous New Dreams of New York City (2011)

Curtis Rumrill – In This Styrofoam Room (2017)
Christine Burke – 6 fingers/We go there by any road we take (2017)

Will Mason
(Oberlin, OH)
Will Mason – Thet Thet (2017)

Justin Massey
(Morgantown, WV)
Jacob Sachs-Mishalanie – 9 Rhymes (2017)

Brianna Matzke
Paul Schuette – Puzzle Pieces (2014)
Molly Joyce – Amplify (2014)

Buck McDaniel and Friends
Buck McDaniel – Marefka Sketches (2018), plainsong (2014, rev. 2017),
This Is What You Shall Do (2014, rev. 2018), Conditions of Living (2012, rev. 2017)

Martha Mooke
Martha Mooke – No Ordinary Window (2015), A Dream in Sound (2014)

Joo Won Park
Joo Won Park – Touch (2017)

Dennis Sullivan – Gamma Chamber (2017)
Erin Rogers – Wormhole (2017)
Sullivan/Rogers – Remote Cipher (2018)

Post-Haste Reed Duo
(Portland, OR / Moscow, ID)
Ruby Fulton – 27 Miles East of Headquarters, ID (2017), Donut Robot (2018)

Semiosis Quartet
Shih-Hui Chen – Fantasia on a Theme of Plum Blossoms (2007)

The Syndicate for the New Arts
Jonn Sokol – Above (2018)
free improvisation

free improvisation

Tower Duo
Charlie Wilmoth – Three Pieces (2013)
Michael Rene Torres – Four Short Episodes (2011)

Transient Canvas
Kirsten Volness – Year Without a Summer (2017)
Dan VanHassel – Epidermis (2017)

Ben Willis
Ben Willis – subatlantic songs (2015-2017)

(St. Paul, MN)
Chinary Ung – Spiral XIV “Nimitta” (2016)

Nick Zoulek
(Bowling Green, OH)
Nick Zoulek – Leafless Against the Gray Sky (2015), Symmetry in Memories (2016), Silhouette of a Storm Bent Tree (2015)

The Free Jazz Collective Reviews

Source: The Free Jazz Collective.

Tashi Dorji & Tyler Damon – Leave No Trace: Live In St. Louis (Family Vineyard, 2018) *****

Vision Festival #23 2018 – Day 6

Vision Festival #23 2018 – Day 5

Vision Festival #23 2018 – Day 4

Vision Festival #23 2018 – Day 3

Vision Festival #23 2018 – Day 2

Vision Festival #23 2018 – Day 1

Gerry Hemingway & Samuel Blaser – Oostum (No Business, 2018) ****

Newsbits: Kyoko Kitamura / Ryuichi / Arvo Part / Guru Guru

On August 10th, 2018, vocalist Kyoko Kitamura will release Protean Labyrinth, the debut album of her quartet Tidepool Fauna featuring the stellar cast of improvisers Ingrid Laubrock (tenor sax), Ken Filiano (bass) and Dayeon Seok (drums).

MODE is a new yearly series of events, which will take place in collaboration with various organisations around different London venues, and Ryuichi Sakamoto has been announced as the first guest curator. The events will cover a mix of music, visual art, performance and film and will kick off on June 19 with a performance between Sakamoto and regular collaborator Alva Noto scheduled for June 20 at the Barbican Centre. His former Yellow Magic Orchestra band member Haruomi Hosono will play one of his first UK shows in the same space on June 23.

A boxed set with all four of Arvo Part’s symphonies is reviewed.

Believe it or not, Guru Guru has put out a new release.