New World Records Releases

Source: New World Records.

‘We, Like Salangan Swallows…’ A choral gallery of Morton Feldman and contemporaries
Composer(s): Morton Feldman, Will Ogdon, Pauline Oliveros, Warren Burt, Earle Brown, Robert Carl
The Astra Choir; John McCaughey, director

The intense individuality of Morton Feldman’s (1926 – 1987) art and its “painterly” aspect have tended to push his rich output of works into a zone all of their own, surrounded by a moat of stillness.

Michael Winter: lower limit
Composer(s): Michael Winter

Elliot Simpson, Chaz Underriner, Cristián Alvear, Vicente Araya, guitars; Brian Parks, virginal; Colleen Potter Thorburn, harp

The immersive sonic textures that characterize Michael Winter’s (b. 1980) music are crafted from comprehensive lists of data, with each composition encompassing a musical question that is addressed algorithmically.