Ensemble Dal Niente’s Party 2017 in Chicago

Source: Ensemble Dal Niente.

June 3, 2017 @ 7:30pm
Ruth Page Center for the Arts
1016 N Dearborn Street
$30/$15 Ticket Link

Come to Dal Niente’s annual PARTY! This year’s PARTY includes an immersive new work by Joshua Fineberg, with assistance by members of Mocrep, where audience members are invited (but not required) to do more than just listen.

As always, patrons of this event will experience a non-traditional performance space, a flexible floor plan, music paired with food and beverages, a relaxed environment where audiences can mingle and move around, and multiple sets of musical performances throughout the night that run the gamut from the hilarious to the sublime. Dal Niente is saving some of its most breathtaking performances for PARTY 2017, offering compositions of varying extremes and stylistic influence that ensure all audience members will find a personal, unforgettable experience.

This year’s PARTY includes beloved works by recent collaborators Hans Abrahamsen and Chaya Czernowin, the Chicago premiere of a new work for Dal Niente by LJ White, and the wild “Swing” by new-to-the-ensemble composer Franck Bedrossian. In the second half of the evening, audiences will be invited to step into an immersive new composition by Joshua Fineberg, where they choose to be passive observers or active participants during the performance. If you choose to participate, you will be guided by members of the Chicago-based ensemble Mocrep, directed towards and within a combination of instruments, theatrical lighting, and electro-acoustic music culminating in collective transcendence.


Joshua Fineberg – take my hand (2017) for two sopranos, flute, clarinet, horn, harp, percussion, piano, electric guitar, violin, viola, cello, electronics, assistants

Franck Bedrossian – Swing (2009) for flute, clarinet, saxophone, percussion, piano, guitar, two violins, viola, cello, bass

LJ White – Chicago Premiere (2017) for two sopranos, saxophone, horn, harp piano, violin, cello, bass

Hans Abrahamsen – Winternacht (1987 version) for flute, clarinet, piano, percussion, guitar, violin, cello

Chaya Czernowin – Sahaf (2008) for saxophone, electric guitar, piano, percussion

Additional works TBA