Bielawa, Clement, Lerdahl, Pärt Featured in NY

Estonian composer Arvo Pärt in Christchurch Ca...

Source: League of Composers/ISCM.

Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 7:30 PM
Season Finale: World and NY Premieres by Bielawa, Clement, Lerdahl, and Pärt

The League of Composers/ISCM — the nation’s oldest organization devoted to contemporary music — presents the Orchestra of the League of Composers performing a World Premiere by Sheree Clement, commissioned by the League/ISCM, a NY Premiere by Fred Lerdahl, and works by Rome Prize winner Lisa Bielawa and Estonian composer Arvo Pärt. The program, taking place at Columbia University’s Miller Theatre, will be conducted by Orchestra of the League of Composers music director Louis Karchin and David Fulmer, and will feature pianist Andrew Armstrong as soloist.

Avro Part: Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten
Sheree Clement: Stories I Cannot Tell You (World Premiere, commissioned by the League/ISCM)
Lisa Bielawa: Start (Piano Concerto)
Andrew Armstrong, soloist
Fred Lerdahl: Time and Again NY Premiere

Miller Theatre at Columbia University:
2960 Broadway, New York, NY 10027
Tickets will be available at the door or online and can be purchased for $25 general admission or $15 for students and seniors.

Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 7:30 PM
Miller Theatre at Columbia University
The Orchestra of the League of Composers
Louis Karchin, music director
David Fulmer, conductor
Andrew Armstrong, piano