The Music of Mark Trayle this Weekend at REDCAT

English: Photo of Mark Trayle at the Sea and S...

Source: REDCAT.

The superbly imaginative, sonically expansive work of composer and sound artist Mark Trayle (1955–2015) is the subject of this tribute by friends, colleagues and former students in The Hub and Bitpanic. Co-founded by Trayle in 1986, The Hub emerged out of the Mills College scene to become the most influential improvising electronic ensemble since Musica Elettronica Viva (MEV). Known for using networked electronic and digital systems of its own devising, the Bay Area group currently consists of John Bischoff, Chris Brown, Tim Perkis, Scot Gresham-Lancaster, Phil Stone and Matt Ingalls. Adding to the computer music lineage pioneered by The Hub is the recently formed collective Bitpanic. Based in Los Angeles, it comprises Casey Anderson, Scott Cazan, Clay Chaplin, David Paha and Stephanie Smith—all one-time students of Trayle at CalArts.

Program in Program Order:

The Hub:
Trayle: In My Room (2010)
Improvisation (2016)
Trayle: Simple Degradation (1987)

Trayle: Pins and Splits (2005)
Trayle: Paper (2013)
Improvisation (2016)