Malcolm Goldstein and Matthias Kawl to Perform in NY

Source: Interpretations.

Thursday October 20, 2016, @ 8PM
509 Atlantic Avenue (at 3rd Ave), Brooklyn NY

Malcolm Goldstein: “Soundings, Etc”
Matthias Kawl Trio: “After The Rain” & More

An evening of works by composer-performers incorporating improvisation into a concert music setting.

One of the great innovators in improvised music, violinist/composer Malcolm Goldstein premieres “Soundings (2016)” for solo violin/voice; the politically motivated “Where Are We Going When We’re Standing Still, Looking Backwards?!” (2002); a duo improvisation with Matthias Kawl; and two works inspired by Martin Luther King Jr. and Samuel Beckett.

Composer Matthias Kawl brings his longstanding trio of flute, guitar, and percussion, to present “After The Rain” (with baritone Thomas Buckner): a surrealistic look at growth in capitalism, communism and literature, incorporating sounds based on recordings of Muddy Waters and of grasshoppers. Kawl’s trio will also perform “Opium for T,” (based on Ovid’s Metamorphosis, and the writings of Japanese writer Yoko Tawada), and “Untitled”, for flutes and mechanized instruments, by Berlin-based composer Marianthi Papalexandri-Alexandri.