JazzPOP Coming to the Hammer Museum

Source: LA’s Hammer Museum.

Hammer Presents: JazzPOP
Thursdays, August 4, 11 and 18
8 p.m. in the Courtyard – FREE

The Hammer’s “reliably excellent” (Los Angeles Times) annual summer festival of creative jazz and improvised music celebrates its 11th year with three FREE concerts featuring some of the most adventurous, inspired, masterful music happening on the West Coast. Curated by Lisa Mezzacappa.

August 4: Cathlene Pineda Quartet
In her extended work, Passing: A California Suite, pianist and composer Cathlene Pineda pays tribute to the complexities and wonders of the city of Los Angeles with music that is “airy, elegant and haunting” (Bakersfield Californian). Pineda and her close-knit quartet navigate the music’s emotionally rich and rhythmically dynamic landscape in a series of compositions inspired by the works of Los Angeles’ first poet laureate, Eloise Klein-Healy.

Cathlene Pineda: piano
Kris Tiner: trumpet
David Tranchina: bass
Tina Raymond: drums

August 11: Michael Vlatkovich Septet
“Vlatkovich…balances dramatic tension, a sly wit, and the wild card of unpredictability in his writing…” —Jazz critic Stuart Kremsky

Amazingly fleet for a group packed with so much thunderous low-end, trombonist Michael Vlatkovich’s Septet features many of Southern California’s most versatile improvisers, handling familiar musical genres with an irreverent and innovative playfulness. The band shapeshifts effortlessly through hard-swinging romps, brass band fantasies, and collective improvisation epiphanies.

Michael Vlatkovich: trombone
Andrew Pask: woodwinds
Bill Plake: tenor sax
Dan Clucas: trumpet
William Roper: tuba
Dominic Genova: bass
John Hernandez: drums

August 18: Sheldon Brown Ensemble
From the vast musical mind of Bay Area saxophonist and composer Sheldon Brown comes an expansive project connecting the rapturous voices of poets to the power of jazz improvisation. Brown’s superlative ensemble performs his thrilling, layered, asymmetrical compositions, built from the rhythms and speech melodies of Beat and Surrealist poets reading from their work.

Sheldon Brown: alto saxophone, clarinets
Lorin Benedict: voice
Darren Johnston: trumpet
John Finkbeiner: electric guitar
Jonathan Alford: piano
Michael Wilcox: electric bass
Alan Hall: drums