Igloo Magazine Reviews

Source: Igloo Magazine.

New Rome :: Nowhere (Room40)
Haruo Okada + Fabio Perletta :: Genkai (LINE)
Eraldo Bernocchi & Shinkiro :: In Praise of Shadows (SSSM)
Kita Kouhei :: Akashic Records (Lantern / Nature Bliss)
L’eoscombu Couti :: Five Cambridge Utilities (Constellation Tatsu)
Red Stars Over Tokyo :: Deconstructing Happiness (Testtoon)
R.R. Hearse :: Call Of Oedipus (1981 – 2013) (June)


Vital Weekly Reviews 1037

Source: Vital Weekly.

Christian Fennesz & Jim O’rourke — It’s Hard for Me to Say I’m Sorry (Cd by Editions Mego) *
Lena Circus & Itaru Oki – Zanshin (Cd by Improvising Beings)
Ensemble 2013 — Free Form Improvisations(2cd by Improvising Beings)
Jonti Harrison — Voyages (Cd by Empreintes Digitales) *
Dag Rosenqvist — Elephant (Cd by Dronarivm) *
Steve Roden/in Be Tween Noise — Every Color Moving (1988-2003) (6cd by Sonoris) *
Klement & Siewert — Hoverload (Cd by Chmafu Nocords) *
Michel Banabila — Early Works: Things Popping up from the Past (Cd by Bureau B) *
Simon Vincent´s the Occasional Trio – Opening Lines (Cd by Vision of Sound)
Jean-marc Foussat & Les Autres – Alternative Oblique(4cd by Improvising Beings)
Wilder Gonzales Agreda — Scala Mega Hertz (Cd by Superspace Records) *
Laurent Perrier — Plateforme #2 (Cd by Baskaru) *
Lawrence English — Approaching Nothing (Cd by Baskaru) *
Aufabwegen 50: Ausgewählte Geräusche (2cd Compilation by Auf Abwegen)
Roland Etzin — Sonic Drawings (Cd by Gruenrekorder) *
Mikel R. nieto — Dark Sound (Cd and Book by Gruenrekorder) *
the Void* — Values (Lp by Lomechanik/esc.rec/shipwrec) *
the Legendary Pink Dots — Kleine Krieg (Double Cdr by the Terminal Kaleidoscope) *
Ryan Huber — Comoros (Cdr by Inam Records) *
Llarks — Cloudwires (10″ Lathe Cut by Lathelight)
Llarks — Everything Remains Unsaid (Cassette by Lathelight)
Antony Milton — the North (Cassette by Lathelight)

Dissident Arts Festival in New York This August

Source: Dissident Arts.

Fri Aug 12, Sat Aug 13 and Sat Aug 27 – Stages Downtown, Uptown and Williamsburg Brooklyn
Join us for the eleventh annual showcase of revolutionary music, literature, performance art, film and activism…

Friday August 12, 8-11pm
68 Ave C (at 5th Street) New York NY 10009
(212) 477-5993 http://5cculturalcenter.org/index.html

8:00-8:45 Trudy Silver’s Where’s the Outrage?
9:00-9:45 Ras Moshe presents The Black Lives Matters Suite
10:00-10:45 Luis Toto Alvarez
10:45-10:55 finale: “Song of the United Front” by Bertolt Brecht & Hanns Eisler

Saturday August 13, 7-11pm
El Taller Latino American @Artspace PS 109
215 East 99 Street (between 2nd and 3rd Aves), New York NY
(212) 665-9460

7:15-8:00 The Literary Warriors with special guest Amina Baraka
8:10-8:55 Bernardo Palombo e Ensemble
9:00—9:15 Cameron Orr, violinist
9:20-10:05 Upsurge!
10:15-11:00 Steve Cohn’s “Abstract vs Fundamental”
11:00-11:15 finale: “Song of the United Front” by Bertolt Brecht & Hanns Eisler

Saturday August 27, 8-11PM
17 Frost Theatre of the Arts
17 Frost Street, Williamsburg Brooklyn NY 11211
(646) 389-2017

8:00 The Dissident Arts Orchestra plays a live score to King Vidor’s 1928 silent film classic “THE CROWD” plus silent shorts

Pierre-Laurent Aimard Pays Homage to Birdsong in the UK

Source: The New York Times.

It was curious Sunday at the Aldeburgh Festival here to find Pierre-Laurent Aimard up with the lark (in every sense), performing at 4:30 a.m., as the sun rose over the poetically bleak Suffolk marshes that surround Snape Maltings Concert Hall. The vista was part of the experience, because Mr. Aimard wasn’t actually inside the hall but in a gallery above it — looking out on nature with a bleary-eyed but, for the time of day, large audience doing likewise. BBC technicians broadcast the performance live, and it was the start of an extraordinary event devoted to Olivier Messiaen’s ultimate attempt at turning birdsong into art: his “Catalogue d’Oiseaux,” which Mr. Aimard played in four strategically timed concerts that extended through the day and finished after midnight, each one linked with the activities of Suffolk’s wildlife.

Room40 New Releases

Source: ROOM40.

David Shea – Piano I
Eugene Carchesio – The Planets
David Toop – Entities Inertias Faint Beings (Ships June 24)
Pierce Warnecke – Memory Fragments (Ships May 20)
New Rome – Nowhere (Ships May 20)
Norman Westberg – MRI
Chris Abrahams – Fluid To The Influence
Ross Manning – Interlacing