Anxious Sound Fall Series in New Orleans

Paal Nilssen-Love


This year’s series continues with a three-show “Throwdown Thursdays” series at the AllWays Lounge (Sept. 17th, Sept. 24th, and Oct 1st), which will feature five musicians in various combinations from solo to full ensemble along with surprise guests.

The Throwdown lineups are as follows:

Sept.17: Rob Cambre with Simon Lott (drums/fx), Jesse Morrow (bass), Travis Blotsky (baritone sax), and Jay Steigner (drums).

Sept. 24: Rob Cambre with Donald Miller (guitar), Will Thompson (pianao/fx), Travis Blotsky (baritone sax), and Jay Steigner (drums).

Oct. 1: Rob Cambre with Helen Gillet (cello), Donald Miller (guitar), Doug Garrison (drums), and Jesse Morrow (bass).

In addition, there’ll be a rock and roll show this Friday (September 18th) at the Saturn Bar featuring Plastic Crimewave Syndicate and Mr. Odom & the Odom Poles, and a Rob Cambre/Chris Robert duo. According to Cambre, there’ll be “all sortsa psychedelic free action going down.”

Finally, the series culminates on Monday, October 5th with a Gasa Gasa show featuring The Thing (Mats Gustafsson on saxophones, Ingebrigt Haker-Flaten on bass, and Paal Nilssen-Love on drums) and Cambre’s group Death Posture (himself and Donald Miller on guitars, and Chris Robert on percussion.)