Myra Melford New Release and Stone Residency

Embed from Getty Images

From Myra Melford:

On March 10th, Pianist Myra Melford is set to release her record Snowy Egret (enja/yellowbird), with Ron Miles on cornet, Liberty Ellman on guitar, Stomu Takeishi on bass and Tyshawn Sorey on drums.

From March 24th through the 29th, Melford will be in residency at the Lower East Side venue The Stone, where she will use her week as a career retrospective–reviving many of her erstwhile projects from when she lived in New York. These groups are comprised of musicians such as Matt Wilson, Mary Halvorson, Tyshawn Sorey, Allison Miller, Chris Speed, Erik Friedlander, and others.

Myra Melford’s Residency at The Stone NYC
3/24 Tuesday
8 pm
Allison Miller and Myra Melford
Allison Miller (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

10 pm
Spindrift for Leroy Jenkins
Nicole Mitchell (flutes) Tyshawn Sorey (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

3/25 Wednesday
8 pm
Ben Goldberg (clarinets) Myra Melford (piano)

10 pm
Miya Masaoka, Mary Halvorson, Myra Melford
Miya Masaoka (koto) Mary Halvorson (guitar) Myra Melford (piano)

3/26 Thursday
8 pm
Crush Quartet
Cuong Vu (trumpet) Stomu Takeishi (bass guitar) Kenny Wollesen (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

10 pm
Be Bread Sextet
Cuong Vu (trumpet) Ben Goldberg (clarinets) Brandon Ross (guitar) Stomu Takeishi (bass guitar) Matt Wilson (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

3/27 Friday
8 and 10 pm
Same River Twice
Dave Douglas (trumpet) Chris Speed (tenor sax, clarinet) Erik Friedlander (cello) Michael Sarin (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

3/28 Saturday
8 and 10 pm
Snowy Egret
Ron Miles (cornet) Liberty Ellman (guitar) Stomu Takeishi (bass guitar) Ted Poor (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

3/29 Sunday
8 pm
Marty Ehrlich and Myra Melford
Marty Ehrlich (reeds) Myra Melford (piano)

10 pm
Myra Melford Trio
Lindsey Horner (bass) Reggie Nicholson (drums) Myra Melford (piano)