Brooklyn’s Douglass Street Music Collective to Host Final Concert then Close

From Douglass Street Music Collective:

Please join us for a special farewell to Brooklyn’s revered, artist-run, Douglass Street Music Collective.

Sat., August 16, 8 PM
Douglass Street Music Collective, 295 Douglass St., Gowanus, Brooklyn, NY 11217
$10 suggested donation

Sonic Liberation Front (octet)
Musicianers – Josh Sinton & Chad Taylor

Sonic Liberation Front blends the repertory music of Santeria with New Thing sensibility. Under the leadership of Kevin Diehl, SLF has shared billing with and/or collaborated with the Sun Ra Arkestra, Marshall Allen and Odean Pope, Billy Bang & Kahil El Zabar, Sunny Murray, Michelle Rosewoman, Ideal Bread, Chicago Underground Duo, Extra Golden, and Thurman Barker. They have toured festivals throughout North America. They have consistently won international critical acclaim for their five internationally-distributed albums. Kevin Diehl – bata & drumkit, Matt Engle – bass, Veronic Jurkiewicz – viola, Todd Margasak – cornet, Connor Przybyszewski – trombone, Tom Lowery – percussion & drumkit, Ron Howerton – bata & percussion, Nichola Rivera – bata & percussion

A long-standing member of the Douglass Street Music Collective, Josh Sinton has hosted hundreds of concerts over the past 7 years brooklyn. his work has been recognized extensively in international press. Josh is a long-standing member of Darcy James Argue’s Secret Society, The Nate Wooley Quintet, The Andrew D’angelo Dna Orchestra and Anthony Braxton’s Tricentric Orchestra. He’s worked with Kirk Knuffke, Tomas Fujiwara, Chad Taylor, Mary Halvorson, Ingrid Laubrock, Jeremiah Cymerman, Josh Roseman, Harris Eisenstadt, Roswell Rudd, James Fei, Denman Maroney, Han-Earl Park, Greg Tate, Curtis Hasselbring, Mike Pride and Jon Irabagon..

Known for his work with Chicago Underground Ensembles with Rob Mazurek and Jeff Parker, Drummer/Multi-instrumentalist Chad Taylor has performed on over 50 recordings and has had the opportunity to work with Fred Anderson, Pharoah Sanders, Marc Ribot, Derek Baily, Ken Vandermark, Sonny Simmons, Matana Roberts, Angelica Sanchez, Eugene Chadbourne, Joe McPhee, Peter Brotzman, Roscoe Mitchell, William Parker, John Zorn, Rob Brown, Kid Jordan, Leroy Jenkins, Fred Hopkins, Evan Parker, Henry Grimes, Nicole Mitchell, Ernest Dawkins, Marilyn Crispell and many more.