Something Else! Interviews Peter Brotzmann

Peter Brötzmann
Cover of Peter Brötzmann

From Something Else!:

Peter Brotzmann is without doubt one of the most influential players in the free jazz scene, and has been for more than 40 years. Superlatives do no justice to the playing, musical experimentation or interpretation which Peter brings to free jazz, so I won’t waste space here. He, of course, was one of the pioneers of free-form jazz in the late 1960s, and made no deferment to jazz snobbery or established opinions about what jazz was.

Upcoming Han-Earl Park Performances

From Han-Earl Park:

June 6, 2014 The New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music
55 West 13th Street
New York, NY 10011 3:00pm Performance by Eris 136199 (Nick Didkovsky: guitar; Han-earl Park: guitar; and Catherine Sikora: saxophones) as part of ISIM: Cross-Cultural Improvisation III.

June 8, 2014 Why Not Jazz Room
14 Christopher Street
New York, NY 10014 7:30pm Performance by Han-earl Park (guitar) and Tom Rainey (drums) as part of Andrea Wolper’s Why Not Experiment? Series.
Also performing: TransAtlantico (Lamy Istrefi: drums, percussion, sound efx; Lawrence Leathers: drums, sound efx; Brahim Fribgane: percussion, goumbri, oud, sound efx).

A Taste of Avant-garde in Meaford, Canada

From the Owen Sound Sun Times.

Avant-garde performances and non-mainstream music are just a few of things people will find just outside of Meaford at the Electric Eclectics festival that is headed into its ninth year from Aug. 1 to Aug. 3. Electric Eclectics takes place on a farm overlooking the scenic Big Head Valley, just outside of Meaford. Organizer Gordon Monahan said The ‘Funny Farm’ features some of the best sunsets you will ever see. Each year, organizers assemble an eclectic program of avant-garde and crossover musicians, as well as art installations, DJs, and films.

Clean Feed Releases

Tony Malaby
Tony Malaby (Photo credit: Bob Doran)

From Clean Feed:

Cene Resnik Quartet Live
From the Sky
Aljosa Jeric (d), Cene Resnik (ts), Emanuele Parrini (v), Giovanni Maier (b)

Alexander Zethson (p), Andreas Werliin (d), Eirik Hegdal (bs), Goran Kajfes (cor), Johan Berthling (b), Magnus Broo (t), Martin Küchen (as/ts), Mats Aleklint (tb), Mattias Ståhl (vib),

Peter Van Huffel’s Gorilla Mask
Bite my Blues
Peter Van Huffel (as), Roland Fidezius (b), Rudi Fischerlehner (d)

Tony Malaby‘s Tamarindo
Somos Agua
Nasheet Waits (d), Tony Malaby (sax), William Parker (b)