AMN Best of 2013 (So Far)

We are half-way through 2013, and therefore it is a good time to revisit some of the best releases that have come to my attention so far this year. Of course it is important to keep in mind that there are plenty of releases I’ve yet to hear, so this list is far from comprehensive.

The best so far:

Jack O’ The Clock – All My Friends
Darcy James Argue / Secret Society – Brooklyn Babylon
Combat Astronomy – Kundalini Apocalypse

Excellent releases:

Billband – Towards Daybreak
Black Host – Life in the Sugar Candle Mines
Brice Catherin – Number 3
Jeremiah Cymerman – Sky Burial
Kris Davis – Capricorn Climber
Ross Hammond – Cathedrals
Rudresh Mahanthappa – Gamak
Rob Mazurek / Octet – Skull Sessions
Frank Rosaly – Cicada Music
Shatner’s Bassoon – Aquatic Ape Privilege
Ches Smith / These Arches – Hammered
Stirrup (Lonberg-Holm / Macri / Rumback) – Sewn
Triangular Ascension – The Chronos Anomaly

Honorable Mentions:

Agarttha – A Water Which Does Not Wet Hands
Barry Altschul – The 3dom Factor
Aun – Alpha Heaven
Taylor Ho Bynum / John Hebert / Gerald Cleaver Continuum
Brendan Byrnes – Micropangaea
Catodo Duo – Al Tiro
Chientaroli, Nicolás / Trio – ViajeraMente
Mary Ellen Childs – Wreck
Chinese Cookie Poets – Danza Cava
Colla Parte – A Cast of Shadows
Confusion Bleue – East Side Banquet
Confusion Bleue – Roulette Concert
Dan-Leo – Sometimes Is Like That
Harris Eisenstadt / September Trio – The Destructive Element
Eitarnora – Tall Grasses and Black Ash
Farthest South – Omens & Talismans
Satako Fujii / ma-do – Time Stands Still
Satako Fujii / New Trio – Spring Storm
Ben Goldberg – Unfold Ordinary Mind
Gunnelpumpers – Montana Fix
Rich Halley / 4 – Crossing the Passes
Havan – Yajna
Hungry Cowboy – Dance
Lee Hyla – My Life on the Plains
Jon Irabagon / Hernani Faustino / G.Ferrandini – Absolut Zero
Desmond Knight – Sentimental Parlour Music
Koboku Senju – Joining the Queue to Become One of Those Ordinary Ghosts
Kwaidan – Make All the Hell of Dark Metal Bright
Lamia Vox – Sigillum Diaboli
Joëlle Léandre / Jérôme Bourdellon – Evidence
Little Worlds – Book Two (EP)
Rob Mazurek / Exploding Star Electro Acoustic Ens – The Space Between
McGuffin Electric – Brightelephant
Nicole Mitchell / Ice Crystal Aquarius
Roscoe Mitchell – Duets with Tyshawn Sorey and Special Guest Hugh Ragin
Roscoe Mitchell – Not Yet
Mostly Other People Do The Killing – Slippery Rock
Mummu – Mitt Ferieparadis (EP)
Alon Nechushtan – Tribal Fire
Nonsemble – Practical Mechanics
Nymph – New Millenium Prayer
Oko – 5730±40
Pan Gu – Primeval Man Born of the Cosmic Egg
Radere – Dreamless
Secret Keeper (Stephan Crump / Mary Halvorson) – Super 8
Wadada Leo Smith / TUMO – Occupy the World
Sonic Liberation Front – Jetpack 1
Sonic Liberation Front – Jetpack 2
Volcano Radar – Refutation of Time
Weasel Walter / Damon Smith / Charity Chan – Improvised Music and Tentacles
The Wrong Object – After the Exhibition
Zs – Grain