Deviant Septet Upcoming Shows

From the Deviant Septet:

Thursday, May 24th: Deviant Septet premieres Histories by composer collective Sleeping Giant
8PM at Issue Project Room
22 Boerum Place (between Livingston and Schermerhorn, Brooklyn, NY)
Admission: $15 / $12 for members
Event link:

Deviant Septet–a new contemporary-music ensemble modeled after Igor Stravinsky’s favored instrumentation of violin, bass, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, trombone, and percussion–will perform the NYC premiere of a new collaborative evening-length work entitled Histories, written by six-piece composer collective Sleeping Giant. Histories is Sleeping Giant’s first-ever collaborative piece and was written exclusively for Deviant Septet to serve as a companion piece to Igor Stravinksy’s L’Histoire du Soldat, the piece after which the Septet is modeled. (Selections from an earlier version of the piece were performed by Ensemble AJCW at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall in February to a warm welcome.) Fittingly, Histories works to examine and contrast the influences Stravinsky’s seminal work had personally on the evening’s composers and performers, as well as the music scene in New York City today in general.

Deviant Septet members are: Bill Kalinkos (clarinet, co-founder) Mike Gurfield (trumpet, co-founder), Courtney Orlando (violin), Brad Balliett (bassoon), Doug Balliett (double bass), Shayna Dunkelman (percussion, xylosynth), and David Nelson (trombone).

Sleeping Giant members are: Andrew Norman, Robert Honstein, Ted Hearne, Jacob Cooper, Christopher Cerrone, and Timo Andres.
Thursday, May 31st: Deviant Septet performs Tierkreis by Karlheinz Stockhausen
Part of Greenwich House Music School’s North River Music Series
8PM at Greenwich House Music School (46 Barrow Street at Bedford, New York, NY)
Admission: $15 at door, Students/Seniors $10 (no advance sales)
Event link:

Deviant Septet presents 12 newly-commissioned world premieres inspired by Karlheinz Stockhausen’s monumental work Tierkreis (Zodiac), each work based on one month of the Zodiac and its corresponding themes from the Stockhausen original. It will include movements by Brad Lubman, Jason Price, Caroline Shaw, Elizabeth Ogonek, Dominique Leone, Kevin McFarland, Adam Roberts, Danielle Schwob, Elliot Cole, Preshish Moments, and more. The Septet made its performance debut in May 2011 on GHMS’s stage to perform its namesake–Stravinsky’s “A Soldier’s Tale”–with Frank Zappa’s “Titties and Beer”.