Music and More Reviews

From Music and More:

Wadada Leo Smith – Dark Lady of the Sonnets (TUM, 2011)
Corey Wilkes – Kind of Miles: Live at the Velvet Lounge (Katalyst, 2011)
Samuel Blaser – Consort in Motion (Kind of Blue, 2011)
Atomic – Here Comes Everybody (Jazzland, 2011)
Jason Adasiewicz – Spacer (Delmark, 2011)

Enhanced by Zemanta

‘That Morning Thing’ at the Kitchen for Performa 11


Robert Ashley, certainly since composing the groundbreaking multimedia opera “Perfect Lives” from 1977 to 1983, has been a profound and evocative storyteller, however obliquely his tales may resonate. Language — the idioms, cadences and signature jargon of spoken American English — is central to Mr. Ashley’s idiosyncratic conception. Even so, his fusion of text, music and stage action rarely refutes a tenuous connection to opera as conventionally defined.

Enhanced by Zemanta