Ensemble Dal Niente Closes Season in Chicago

Augusta Read Thomas

From Ensemble Dal Niente:

Ensemble Dal Niente has taken listeners on a whirlwind tour of musical styles in the 2010-11 season; its season finale pairs two undeniable masterpieces, including Ligeti’s wild and exciting Piano Concerto, with works by Drew Baker and Augusta Read Thomas, longtime friends of Dal Niente

SEASON FINALE – Saturday, May 28, 2011, 7:30pm – ($15/$5 students)
Nichols Concert Hall
1490 Chicago Avenue
Evanston, IL 60201

Michael Lewanski, conductor
Winston Choi, piano
Spektral Quartet

DREW BAKER (b. 1978) – new work for ensemble, title TBA (WORLD PREMIERE)
AUGUSTA READ THOMAS (b.1964) – Rise Chanting for string quartet
GYORGY LIGETI (1923-2006) – Piano Concerto
LOUIS ANDRIESSEN (b.1939) – Workers Union

The 2010-11 season has been breathless and busy for Dal Niente. Come celebrate with us as we cap off the season with a huge program of beautiful, riveting, and ferociously virtuosic music! Drew Baker, a former Chicago composer now based in New York, writes music of dangerous fragility. This new score is so new, we don’t even know the title yet – unless it’s a radical departure from his past work, it will probably involve hissing, buzzing, sweetly trilling sounds inspired by diverse aspects of world events and visual art.

Piano Concerto is a wild ride through amazing rhythmic mazes and stylistic worlds. Its surprising sonic combinations – ocarina! Nutty percussion equipment! Extremely high woodwinds! Winston Choi’s dazzling piano technique and rich artistry! – will likely make this one of the most memorable performances you will hear in Chicago all year. Don’t miss this. We are excited to once again present our friends the Spektral Quartet in a lush, evocative, sultry score by Augusta Read Thomas. We will close the concert with a rollicking, riveting, clangorous reading of Workers Union, Louis Andriessen’s hard-charging, partially improvised piece for unspecified instruments.

Enhanced by Zemanta