Yarmouth Contemporary Music Days April 29-30

Morton Feldman

From Pytheas Music some rare performances coming to Maine:

Pytheas Center for Contemporary Music presents Yarmouth Contemporary Music Days, a series of music events taking place Friday and Saturday, April 29-30, 2011, involving Maine composers, musicians, educators, artists, and students. Yarmouth Contemporary Music Days features contemporary music with live performances, sound art and a special listening group . . .

CONCERT I – Sound Art
Friday, April 29, 2011, 7:30 PM, St. Bartholomew’s Church, Yarmouth

On the Program:

Arnold Schoenberg
Six Little Piano Pieces, op. 19 (1911)
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Vladimir Ussachevsky
Sonic Contours (1952)

Arvo Pärt
Für Alina (1976)
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Laurie Spiegel
Appalachian Grove (1974)

John Cage
Dream (1948)
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Edward Wright
Y Twr (2009)

Brian Cherney
Elegy for a Misty Afternoon (1965)
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Mason Bates
Rodeopteryx (1999)

Morton Feldman
Intermission 6 (1953)
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Pierre Henry
Spatiodynamisme (1954)

CONCERT II – Ten by Ten
Saturday, April 30, 2011, 7:30 PM, St. Bartholomew’s Church, Yarmouth

On the Program:

Gregory Hall
Compositional Improvisation (2011)
Gregory Hall, piano

Gay Pearson
Crossings (2011)
Gay Pearson, piano

Philip Glass
Metamorphosis One (1988)
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Richard Rodney Bennett
Siesta, from Summer Music (1982)
Katie Pekar, flute
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Nathan Kolosko
Ama Lur (2009)
– Evocation
– Rituales
– Meditacion
– Expiacion
Nathan Kolosko, guitar

Wallingford Reigger
Petite Etude (1957)
Vinny Fuerst, piano

Robin Jellis
In the Bus (2010)
Peace Piece (2001-09)
Robin Jellis, cello
Martin Steingesser, poet/speaker

Samuel Barber
Excursions (1944)
Mark Braun, piano

Steve Reich
New York Counterpoint (1985)
Emily Johnson, clarinet

Richard St. Clair
Sonatina (2010)
Gay Pearson, piano

Joshua DeScherer
Study in Metal (2011)
Joshua DeScherer, prepared contrabass
Exercise on a Breeze (2009)
Joshua DeScherer, contrabass

  • Splash! (waywardmusic.blogspot.com)
Enhanced by Zemanta