The Big Ears 2011 Festival is on hold for the moment.

A new George Crumb release is out.

Ensemble Dal Niente is performing works of Ligeti and Berio January 20 in Evanston, IL.

FlingcoSound has made available a long track from Annie Feldmeier Adams and Steven Hess.

Edmund Welles composes heavy metal music for a bass clarinet quartet. Its good.

Bruce Arnold and John Stowell have a new release out of electroacoustic guitar improv. Samples available on their site.

Enhanced by Zemanta

The Squidco 2010 Top 40

From Squidco, a list of their top 40 best sellers of 2010:

Featured labels include Portugal’s Clean Feed Records; Norway’s PNL and Smalltown Superjazzz; New York area labels Skirl Records, Tzadik, Firehouse 12, and Hot Cup; Poland’s Not Two; Japan’s Doubtmusic and Libra labels; Canada’s Barnyard Records and Red Toucan; UK’s Foghorn Records, Bo Weavil, and Recommended Records; Sweden’s Ayler Records; Israel’s Hopscotch Records; and Switzerland’s Intakt Records.

Enhanced by Zemanta

December Paris Tranatlantic

Lol Coxhill
Cover of Lol Coxhill

Tons of reviews and more from Paris Tranatlantic:

Joe Colley
Henry Threadgill
Jean-Claude Eloy
In Concert: Pour Albert Ayler
Songs From Under The Floorboards

VINYL SOLUTION: Bryce Beverlin II / Black Air / James Blackshaw / Harris Eisenstadt / Kurt Knuffke / Kablys / Hisato Higuchi / Giuseppe Ielasi / Suzanne Langille & Neel Murgai / Pauline Oliveros / Our Love Will Destroy The World / Raglani / Outer Space / Vanessa Rossetto / Chris Schlarb / The Pitch

JAZZ & IMPROV: Susan Alcorn / Ballister / Xavier Charles / Charles, Grydeland, Wallumrod, Zach / Chip Shop Music / Lol Coxhill, Enzo Rocco, Roger Turner / Massimo Falascone / Hammeriver / Robin Holcomb / Paul Hubweber & Philip Zoubek / Jon Irabagon / Kahn, Müller & Wolfarth / Adam Lane / Roscoe Mitchell / Mohammad / Muta / Parker, Guy, Lytton + Peter Evans / Stefano Pastor / Syndromes / Jason Robinson & Anthony Davis / John Russell / Wadada Leo Smith & Ed Blackwell / Syndromes / Teatime / I Never Meta Guitar

CONTEMPORARY: Cornelius Cardew / Alvin Curran / David First / Alvin Lucier / Zeitkratzer Whitehouse

ELECTRONICA: Failing Lights / If, Bwana / Philip Jeck / Zbigniew Karkowski & Kelly Churko / Richard Pinhas / Rebecca Joy Sharp & Simon Whetham / Asmus Tietchens

Enhanced by Zemanta