Jeff Carey / Audrey Chen / Raed Yassin / Morten J. Olsen at Sonic Circuits

From DC’s Sonic Circuits:

Thursday September 3
Doors 730pm Music 8pm SHARP
8230 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring MD 20910
located three blocks south of the silver spring metro station (red line)
Free parking in gated lot out front
Jeff Carey+Audrey Chen+Raed Yassin+Morten J. Olsen Quartet

American composer JEFF CAREY’S music is a blend of fixed-media composition and electro-instrumentalism — the music of the visceral, ecstatic, and electric moment. His inventions of fluid sound are in an ever changing state: a mobile moves in the wind, changes shape, and is in constant renewal. Listeners are invited to explore an abstract sonic universe and engage in a world inspired by fictional cosmology, code breaking, and mathematical conundrums.

AUDREY CHEN is a Chinese-American musician and performance artist born outside of Chicago in 1976. Using the cello, voice and analog electronics, Chen’s work focuses on the combination and layering of traditional and extended techniques. A large component of her music is improvised and her approach to this is often extremely personal and visceral. Her performance work incorporates sound, movement and visual/sculptural concepts.

RAED YASSIN: Born in Beirut 1979, a video, sound and visual artist, also works as a musician: (double bass, tapes and electronics), and a part-time curator. Graduated from the theatre department in the Lebanese university in Beirut. He works with image, music, text and concept. His work based on themes related to the media, the city, the history of contemporary art, Arabic cinema, pornography, pop culture, disasters, and archives. His work was shown across Europe, the Middle East, the United States, and Japan. Currently he lives and works in Amsterdam.

MORTEN J. OLSEN is active in the impro./contemporary music scene in Amsterdam. He’s part of the new movement called critical newism, the N collective, and plays with Thomas Dybdal, and in MoHa! with Anders Hana.

After a long hiatus Tyler Higgins and Dave Vosh return with their duo SAFE . Using electronics, acoustic instruments, and modular synthesizer, they build slowly evolving complex layers of sound.