Musique Machine Reviews

From Musique Machine:

The Skull Defekts – DFX
With DFX The Skull Defekts return with two long atmospheric, subdued violent and bleakly focused tracks of noisy and grimy electronics meets downturned rock- proving once more that they may be a prolific project, but they always give quality and consistence with each & every release.

Thinguma*jigsaw – awakeinwhitechapel
awakeinwhitechapel is this two piece’s debut album that takes in their own distinctive and macabre take on folk which they’ve christened splatter folk. Utilizing a striped down and unusual but always haunting and often tuneful instrumental mix of banjo, flute, musically saw, along with both members rich, beautiful and descriptive male and female singing

Preston Swirnoff – Maariv
Maariv is an enjoyable collection of electro acoustic pieces by San Diego-based musician Preston Swirnoff, he utilizes;piano, tone generators, organs, guitar, tape machines to create the pieces.

Solo Adata,Seaworthy & Taylor Deupree – Live in Melbourne
Live from Melbourne offers up an equal three way split between these three sonic entities and captures nicely the lush, soothing and detailed 12k sound that mixers organic instruments with electronics in a very distinct and rewarding manner.

Death In June & Boyd Rice – Scorpion Wind
This is a reissue of a collaboration from 1996 that shows both parties on fine form collaborating well together to give an album of tuneful and hypnotic neo folk/ dark pop with creative touches of easy listening, jazz and sound elements.

Sangre Cavallum – Troadouro Retrospectiva 1997- 2007
This double disk set takes in rare, early works and compilation material from this Portuguese project who mix up there own distinctive brew of neo folk, world music, with prog and metallic edges, theatricals and field recordings- all played with a wide and exotic mix of Portuguese folk instruments as well as your standard guitar, bass and synths, etc.

AAJ Reviews

From AAJ:

18-Apr-08 Harold Rubin/Maya Dunietz/Yoni Silver
A Mono Musical Suite For Three Manic Musicians Self Produced
Reviewed by Eyal Hareuveni

18-Apr-08 The Bennie Maupin Quartet
Early Reflections Cryptogramophone
Reviewed by John Kelman

18-Apr-08 John Coltrane
Turning Point FiveFour
Reviewed by Nic Jones

17-Apr-08 Kris Davis
Rye Eclipse Fresh Sound New Talent
Reviewed by Troy Collins

16-Apr-08 Fire Room
Broken Music Atavistic
Reviewed by Troy Collins

16-Apr-08 Zlatko Kaucic
Tolminski Punt Splasc H Records
Reviewed by Budd Kopman

ASO shatters generational divide with new sounds

New music is breaking down barriers in Alabama:

Maybe it was the drawing power of Jonny Greenwood’s name, maybe the parties before and after at the Alys Stephens Center, but the Alabama Symphony drew a sold-out crowd Thursday that could only be described as, well, young.

Jeans and t-shirts outnumbered coats and ties. Regular symphony-goers mingled with 20-something newcomers. The ASO’s stated goal of attracting new audiences couldn’t have been realized any better.

On stage, the orchestra soaked up the ebullience, illuminating three works composed in the last four years with skill and inspiration.

The centerpiece was “Popcorn Superhet Receiver,” a work for string orchestra by Greenwood, better known as Radiohead’s lead guitarist, that made it to the soundtrack of “There Will Be Blood.” It recalls scores from the 1960s and 70s, when the avant garde was king. Shades of Penderecki, Xenakis and Ligeti abound in its dense harmonies and sound masses and eerie glissandos that converge and diverge. True to the work’s radio static-related title, Greenwood inserts a segment of percussive white noise with random string plucks using, appropriately, guitar picks.