Keir Neuringer Update

tumblr_m9j3f7gYuS1rf6q6mo1_500From Keir Neuringer:

Upcoming performances:

Trio in Philadelphia
with Shayna Dulberger (bass) and Julius Masri (drums)
Thursday, October 16th, 8PM
@ First Banana (2152 E Dauphin St)

Solo in NYC
Sunday, October 19th, 7PM
@ Downtown Music Gallery (13 Monroe St)

Trio in Philadelphia
with Shayna Dulberger (bass), Julius Masri (drums)
Saturday, November 8, 7PM
@ House Gallery 1816 (1816 Frankford St)

Newly released is THE KRAKÓW LETTERS, a recording of improvisations Rafal Mazur and I performed in Krakow in 2012. The recording was engineered by Rafal Drewiany (who also recorded our previous album Unison Lines). It is available on compact disc through the label, For-Tune, and other online shops. This month marks 15 years since Rafal and I first improvised together in a cellar bar in Krakow. A tour is not in the cards this fall, but we will be playing again in 2015.

About these ads

Newsbits: Steve Reich / Joseph Nechvatal / Feldman in Houston / MUSIKUNST in Melbourne

Morton Feldman

Cover of Morton Feldman

The latest release from Steve Reich is reviewed.

Dead Letter Office is a new book directed by Joseph Nechvatal, accompanied by a compilation of rare tracks of US electronic music artist Minóy.

Morton Feldman‘s For Philip Guston will be performed November 2, 2014, 1pm-5pm at the Rothko Chapel in Houston, Texas.
Performers include Claire Chase, flute/piccolo; Steven Schick, percussion and Sarah Rothenberg, piano/celeste.

MUSIKUNST in Melbourne, Australia features an afternoon of voices, modules and patches that traverses from the organic to the synthesised on Saturday, October 25. Performing will be: Nadir, Anthea Caddy &Amp; Matt Davis, and Alice Hui-sheng Chang.

AMN Picks of the Week: Magma / Khost / Dirk Serries / Fred Ho / Bord à Bord / Bryan Counter & Satchel Forrester

Here is where I post, at a frequency of about once a week, a list of the new music that has caught my attention that week. All of the releases listed below I’ve heard for the first time this week and come recommended.

Magma – Riah Sahiltaahk (2014)
Khost – Copper Lock Hell (2014)
Dirk Serries – The Origin Reversal (2014)
Fred Ho / Green Monster Big Band – The Sweet Science Suite (2011)
Bord à Bord – Bord à Bord (2014)
Bryan Counter & Satchel Forrester – Twice Stopped (2014)

Tod Dockstader Kickstarter

Justin H. Brierley has launched a Kickstarter project to produce a film about Tod Dockstader.

Electronic composer, filmmaker, cartoonist, writer, Alzheimer’s patient. This film will explore the life and work of Tod Dockstader.

Tod Dockstader is a multi-talented creator whose work remains largely unrecognized. He is perhaps most well known as a composer of electronic music and as a cartoon sound effects artist. While working at Terrytoons in the early 1960s he provided sounds for Tom & Jerry and other cartoons directed by Gene Deitch. Around the same time he also worked as a sound engineer for a studio in NYC that mostly did commercial work. He used these resources during his off hours to create several albums startling electronic music that influenced artists like Frank Zappa, Pete Townshend, and Aphex Twin. Some of this music was even used by Fellini as part of the Satyricon soundtrack.

Newsbits: Nate Wooley in Philly / Sun Ran Catalog Review / Breiner in NY Reviewed / Olive, Kawaguchi, and Oshiro Release / Revolutionary Snake Ensemble Halloween Show

On October 28th Carol Robinson & Nate Wooley perform the works of Eliane Radigue & Denis Dufour at The Rotunda, 4014 Walnut Street, Philadelphia.

A fairly comprehensive set of reviews for the Sun Ran catalog have been posted in two parts, here and here.

Patrick Breiner’s Double Double performance at Korzo in NY is reviewed.

Tim Olive, Takahiro Kawaguchi, and Makoto Oshiro have a new release out on 845 Audio.

The Revolutionary Snake Ensemble will perform a Halloween Show, Friday, October 31, 7:30 pm at the Regattabar at the Charles Hotel, One Bennett Street, Cambridge, MA.

AMN Reviews and Interviews: September 2014

English: Mary Halvorson, Jazz guitarist; Pictu...

Mary Halvorson

Last month we published the following reviews and interviews:

John Luther Adams – Become Ocean
Spectrical – Emergent Forms
France Jobin – The Illusion of Infinitisemal
Apocryphal in New York, Sept. 18, 2014
Triple Point – Phase/Transitions
Ovro – Id | entities
Robert Erickson – Complete String Quartets
Anglagard – Prog på Svenska – Live in Japan
The Group – The Feed-Back
Mary Halvorson – Reverse Blue

No interviews this month. More are coming soon.

AMN Picks of the Week: John Luther Adams / Jonathan Badger / Dylan Ryan’s Sand / Phurpa / Frith and Butcher / Desiderii Marginis

Here is where I post, at a frequency of about once a week, a list of the new music that has caught my attention that week. All of the releases listed below I’ve heard for the first time this week and come recommended.

John Luther Adams – Become Ocean (2014)
Jonathan Badger – Verse (2014)
Happy Family – Minimal Gods (2014)
Dylan Ryan / Sand – Circa (2014)
Phurpa – The Magic Rituals of the BON Tradition (2014)
Fred Frith / John Butcher – The Natural Order (2014)
Desiderii Marginis – Hypnosis (2014)