Open Ears Music Music Show Downloads

Sun Ra

Cover of Sun Ra

From New OrleansOpen Ears Music Series:

Jimbo Walsh Quintet – 24 June 2014
Jimbo Walsh – piano & guitar, Jesse Morrow – bass, Dave Cappello – drums, Travis Blotsky – saxophone, Janna Saslaw – flute

Rex Gregory Trio – 10 June 2014
Rex Gregory – saxophones, Jesse Morrow – bass, Marcello Benetti – drums

Tarik Hassan Quartet – 3 June 2014
Tarik Hassan – bass, Chris Alford – guitar, Paul Thibodeaux – drums, Rex Gregory – saxophones

Helen Gillet & James Singleton
Helen Gillet – cello & James Singleton – bass

Open Ears Big(ish) Band – Celebration of Sun Ra
Jeff Albert – trombone & conductor; Jimbo Walsh – piano; James Singleton – bass; Doug Garrison – drums; Antonio Gambrell & John Culbreth – trumpets; Rick Trolsen – trombone; Ray Moore, Rex Gregory, Brad Walker, & Dan Oestreicher – saxes; Janna Saslaw – flute.

About these ads

History of Electronic / Electroacoustic Music 62 CD Set

From UbuWeb Sound:

This is from a 62 CD set called “The History of Electroacoustic Music” that was floating around as a torrent, reputedly curated by a Brazilian student. It’s sketchy. The torrent vanished and the collection has long been unavailable.

The selections include:

Messiaen – Oraison – 1937 – For Ondes Martenot
Cage – Imaginary Landscape – 1939 – For 2 phonographs
Schaeffer – Presentation du Concert de Bruits – 1948/06/20
Eimert, Herbert – Klangstudie I – 1952
Luening, Otto – Low Speed – 1952
Stockhausen, Karlheinz – Étude – 1952
Goeyvaert, Karel – Komposition Nr. 5 – 1953

And many others.

Open Ears Music Series Show Downloads

From New Orleans’ Open Ears Music Series:

Jesse Morrow Tax Day Quintet – 15 April 2014
Jesse Morrow – bass, Chris Alford – guitar, Paul Thibodeaux – drums, Brad Walker & Rex Gregory – saxophones

Georgi Petrov Trio – 8 April 2014
Georgi Petrov – guitar, Trey Boudreaux – bass, Brad Webb – drums

NPR First Listen: Nels Cline Singers, ‘Macroscope’


Nels Cline

Cover of Nels Cline

NPR is offer a full stream of this new release.

Nels Cline is a gateway drug in the best of ways. He’s known as the guitar player for one of America’s best bands, Wilco. His crazy performances, filled with static shrieking and string bending, have led fans to the other side of music. It’s a style that interweaves jazz, progressive rock and noise.

We reviewed the album here.

Bob Drake’s Audio Archive

Bob Drake has released a bunch of songs that he has recorded over the years.

Bob Drake

Cover of Bob Drake

This small selection of ditties, featuring groups of which I have been a member of over the centuries, collaborations, one-off oddities and other such thrills, has been lovingly hand-plucked for your amusement from amongst my horribly vast collection of cassettes, CDs and hard disks, and streams in scintillating 320kbps MP3 quality. Note that this page will be updated occasionally, on those rainy days when I have time to pore over the crates full of cassettes and hard disks.

Ordnance, Tape Only Recordings Available for Free

From Radio Free Midwich.

‘Ordnance, Tape Only’, or oTo to its friends, was a sound-art off-shoot project from fencing flatworm recordings, the micro-label I co-ran with Sean Keeble in the early years of this century. There were fifty oTo releases, with each release limited to a numbered fifty copies, all on one-sided cassette tapes. Apart from the artist name and the catalogue number no other information was included. It became a cross section of the UK noise underground at the time and even attracted the attention of the international experimental jet-set with, for example, Thurston Moore donating some skronking.

Every Contact Leaves a Trace Label Launch

Bang the Bore writes about the new CDr label Every Contact Leaves a Trace:

Every Contact Leaves a Trace is a new CDr label launching Monday 20th January 2014. There are four initial releases available for purchase, stream and download – a process edit of field recordings made inside 20th Century Fox’s 1965 film The Sound of Music, by Henry Collins; a reworking of concert performances by Dominic Lash and Will Montgomery; a collision of broken instruments and field recordings by Ignacio Agrimbau; and four recordings made in the field – but not of the field – by Seth Cooke.


William Winant Interview and Album Stream

William Winant 1

William Winant 1 (Photo credit: michaelz1)

From SPIN:

Percussionist William Winant has been the avant-elite’s go-to percussionist for more than 35 years. The list of folks he’s worked with is basically an abridged history of the 20th century’s back end: John Cage, Iannis Xenakis, Pierre Boulez, Terry Riley, Steve Reich, Frank Zappa, Alvin Lucier, Anthony Braxton, John Zorn, Sonic Youth, and Mr. Bungle, to pick a handful. But despite appearances on more than 200 recordings, he had never released a proper solo album, a grievous wrong long-running indie label Poon Village has finally righted with the release of Five American Percussion Pieces. Launches with Rare Tapes


This website is a collection of underground / independantly released cassette tapes from the days when the audio cassette was the standard method of music sharing, generally the mid eighties through early nineties.

Material represented includes tape experimentation, industrial, avant-garde, indy, rock, diy, subvertainment and auto-hypnotic materials… most of what you are about to hear is rather difficult to file under any one category, and thus has not been.

Unfortunately, the recordings are just provided in alphabetical order, but exploring would be a fun way to spend a rainy afternoon.

Open Ears Music Shows

Free downloads of recent Open Ears Music shows are available.

Neslort – 19 February 2013 – Audio Archive
Neslort: Rick Trolsen, Kyle Cripps, Tim Robertson, Pat Casey, Marcello Benetti

redrawblak – Audio Archive – 5 February 2013
redrawblak: Brad Walker, Aurora Nealand, Paul Thibodeaux, Helen Gillet, Jesse Morrow, Chris Alford

Bubble Bath – Audio Archive – 29 January 2013
Bubble Bath

FireFace – Audio Archive – 22 January 2013
(Don’t Put) Fire (on Your) Face: Dan Oestreicher (bass sax), Marcello Benetti (drums), Tim McFatter (tenor sax), & Pete Murano (guitar)

Plunge – Audio Archive – 15 January 2013
Plunge: Mark McGrain (trombone), Tom Fitzpatrick (saxes), and James Singleton (bass)

Jesse Morrow – Audio Archive – 8 January 2013
Jesse Morrow (basses), Rex Gregory (saxes), Dave Cappello & Chris Nobles (percussion)